MSNZ announces Premier Racing Series calendar

A combined New Zealand Touring Car category will feature among the PRS line-up

A combined New Zealand Touring Car category will feature among the PRS line-up

Motor Sport New Zealand has confirmed a nine-event 2015/16 Premier Racing Series calendar, featuring the now combined New Zealand Touring Cars category.

The calendar has been released following what has been hailed as an “historic day for the sport” last week, where representatives of the various categories met in Auckland and formed an organising committee.

The Series Organising Group consists of members from the Toyota Racing Series, the NZV8 and former V8SuperTourer groups, UDC V8 Utes, the Ssangyong Race Series, Tradezone GTRNZ, Enzed Central Muscle Cars and the Toyota Finance 86 Championship.

A MSNZ statement says that the group will “work with MSNZ and deliver stability and top level motorsport to rekindle both public and corporate interest.”

Individual calendars for the categories are yet to be confirmed and, as in previous years, will be spread across the Premier Racing events.

The Historic Racing Club will organise and promote the events, with the exception of the Pukekohe V8 Supercars meeting and New Zealand Grand Prix.

“This was an historic day for the sport with everyone together in a room working to build a better future for circuit motor racing in New Zealand,” said Rally New Zealand chairman Peter Johnston, who led the recent meeting between the category representatives.

“There was a great deal of goodwill and a lot of hard work had already been put in to bring the calendar together even before the meeting.

“We have some great categories racing at some great circuits and the job now is to turn them into the best events we can.

“There is some fine tuning to do and plenty more work, but we can now all move ahead together in the best interests of the sport.”

Premier Racing Calendar 2015/16

1 Taupo Motorsport Park October 17 and 18
2* Pukekohe Park Raceway (V8 Supercar event) November 6 and 7
3 Hampton Downs Motorsport Park November 28 and 29
4 Mike Pero Motorsport Park Ruapuna January 16 and 17
5 Teretonga Park Raceway January 23 and 24
6 Hampton Downs Motorsport Park January 29 and 31
7 Taupo Motorsport Park February 6 and 7
8** Manfeild Autocourse (New Zealand GP) February 12 to 14
9 Pukekohe Park Raceway April 16 and 17

*Event not organised or promoted as part of the Premier Racing Calendar

**Event promoted by Manfeild

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]