Reynolds scores pole for Hidden Valley finale

The Bottle-O Racing Team celebrates pole for Race 15

The Bottle-O Racing Team celebrates pole for Race 15

David Reynolds edged Fabian Coulthard to the Armor All Pole Award ahead of Race 15 of the V8 Supercars Championship at Hidden Valley.

Coulthard set a 1:06.38s benchmark at the halfway mark of the 20 minutes that almost went unbeaten.

The Bottle-O Ford driver was the only one to go faster when the entire field re-emerged on new rubber for the final minutes, eclipsing his Holden rival by 0.12s.

Amazingly, Reynolds’ lap in the hard tyre-only session proved even quicker than Rick Kelly’s Race 14 pole time on softs.


“It’s my first pole since 2013 so its awesome for all the team as all four cars are going really well,” beamed Reynolds post-session.

“It’s credit to the guys as the car wasn’t that fast yesterday and they tuned it up overnight.”

Shane van Gisbergen and Chaz Mostert will share the second row, while Dale Wood was the surprise of the session in fifth.

Mark Winterbottom, James Courtney, Nick Percat, Jason Bright and Andre Heimgartner completed the top 10.

It was a tough session for Red Bull, with Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes ending up just 12th and 15th respectively.

Kelly’s Saturday pace disappeared as the Jack Daniel’s Nissan struggled to 17th, while Garth Tander’s troubled weekend continued in 23rd.

An off on his first green tyre lap meanwhile spelt trouble for Scott McLaughlin, who could not better 21st position in the lead Volvo.

Morning practice pace-setter Ash Walsh was even further back in 24th, struggling with understeer in his Mercedes on the hard rubber.

Result: V8 Supercars Qualifying Race 15, Hidden Valley

1 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 1:06.2526
2 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:06.3773 0.12
3 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:06.4253 0.17
4 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:06.4931 0.24
5 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:06.4937 0.24
6 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:06.5209 0.26
7 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:06.5599 0.30
8 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:06.5712 0.31
9 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:06.5918 0.33
10 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 1:06.5955 0.34
11 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:06.5956 0.34
12 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:06.5965 0.34
13 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:06.5999 0.34
14 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:06.6013 0.34
15 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:06.6091 0.35
16 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:06.6332 0.38
17 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:06.6822 0.42
18 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:06.7482 0.49
19 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:06.8383 0.58
20 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:06.9425 0.68
21 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:06.9471 0.69
22 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:06.9708 0.71
23 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:06.9921 0.73
24 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 1:07.1554 0.90
25 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:07.6254 1.37

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]