Mostert wins chaotic Hidden Valley opener

Chaz Mostert scored victory in Race 13

Chaz Mostert scored victory in Race 13

Chaz Mostert and Mark Winterbottom emerged from an action packed opening race at Hidden Valley with a one-two finish for Prodrive.

Mostert made the best of the starts to lead all 21 laps, asserting his dominance on two Safety Car restarts on the way to victory.

Pole-sitter James Courtney gave chase before a mid-race off at Turn 1 saw the Holden drop behind Winterbottom, eventual third place finisher Rick Kelly and Shane van Gisbergen.

Courtney’s race came even further unstuck on a restart with two laps to go, when the 2010 champion speared off following side-to-side contact with Van Gisbergen’s Tekno Holden.


Garth Tander, who had fought his way through from 15th on the grid, was also caught up in the incident, dropping both HRT entries to the rear.

James Moffat and Michael Caruso swept through the chaos to fourth and fifth respectively, with Scott Pye, Tim Slade, Dale Wood, Nick Percat and Todd Kelly filling the remainder of the 10.

Jamie Whincup took the flag in 11th despite dropping to the back of the pack at the very opening turn.

Fabian Coulthard was tagged at Turn 1

Fabian Coulthard was tagged at Turn 1

Starting fourth, the six-time champion lost the rear of his Red Bull Holden, sliding into third-placed Fabian Coulthard, putting the Kiwi out of the race.

There was more carnage at the Turn 6 hairpin as a Scott McLaughlin dive-bomb resulted in spins for Craig Lowndes and Tim Blanchard.

A battle for sixth between James Moffat and Dale Wood two laps later sent the BJR Holden off at Turn 1, triggering a grass fire that required a Safety Car while it was extinguished.

The full course yellows were also required in the closing stages after another fire; this time caused by a second Craig Lowndes spin.

Also in the mid-race wars were David Reynolds, Jason Bright and Andre Heimgartner, who all toured the scenery during a scrap for eighth.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 13, Hidden Valley

1 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X  21 27:48.7583
2 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X  21 27:49.7771
3 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima  21 27:50.8052
4 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima  21 27:51.1891
5 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima  21 27:52.1446
6 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X  21 27:52.4236
7 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF  21 27:52.7317
8 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF  21 27:53.0872
9 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF  21 27:53.3396
10 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima  21 27:53.7485
11 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF  21 27:54.0400
12 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF  21 27:54.6691
13 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF  21 27:55.0765
14 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG  21 27:55.3275
15 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60  21 27:55.8228
16 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X  21 27:56.0576
17 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF  21 27:56.9516
18 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF  21 27:57.2817
19 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF  21 27:57.5297
20 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF  21 27:58.1665
21 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG  21 27:58.7360
22 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X  21 27:58.9426
23 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF  21 28:00.8670
DNF Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF
DNF Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]