Lowndes collects 100th V8 Supercars win

Craig Lowndes scored his 100th career win

Craig Lowndes scored his 100th career win

Craig Lowndes made the best of another dramatic sprint at Hidden Valley to record his 100th career V8 Supercars Championship race win.

Starting fifth in the soft tyre race, Lowndes exited Turn 1 in the lead after contact between front-row starters Rick Kelly and Fabian Coulthard.

Coulthard had out-dragged the pole-sitting Nissan to the first corner only for Kelly to tap the rear of the Holden, sending both to the back of the field.

Further contact later in the lap between Andre Heimgartner, Will Davison, Jamie Whincup and Nick Percat then triggered a Safety Car to collect the Super Black Ford.

Lowndes controlled the restart from Tim Slade before pulling away to a comfortable victory.

Symbolically for the #888 Holden, the win came in the 888th ever ATCC/V8 Supercars Championship race.

“It’s quite incredible we’ve been close in the last couple of rounds,” said Lowndes.

“This one is obviously something really special for me. Thankfully Sladey let me get a gap and I could just manage the car.

“It is a credit to the guys. It’s been a fantastic career, it’s been amazing to work with these guys for such a long time.

“We had a bad run in Race 1 and I didn’t think it would happen but all the stars aligned.

“It was 888th for V8 Supercars our car is 888, its an amazing feeling.”

Slade held off a determined Chaz Mostert for second while Scott Pye carved his way to a season-best fourth for DJR Team Penske.

Shane van Gisbergen, James Courtney, Mark Winterbottom, Garth Tander, Scott McLaughlin and David Reynolds completed the top 10.

Van Gisbergen and Courtney traded places on multiple occasions without incident, despite their clash in the earlier heat.

Those to strike trouble further back included the two Erebus Mercedes-AMGs, which collided mid-race, sending Will Davison into a spin.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 14, Hidden Valley 

1 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 21  27:50.5225
2 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 21  27:52.3616
3 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 21  27:52.9674
4 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 21  27:54.4101
5 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 21  27:55.8491
6 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 21  27:56.5551
7 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 21  27:56.9140
8 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 21  27:58.2504
9 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 21  28:00.7656
10 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 21  28:00.9707
11 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 21  28:02.0039
12 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 21  28:02.6571
13 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 21  28:05.8291
14 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 21  28:06.1826
15 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 21  28:06.4791
16 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 21  28:06.9250
17 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 21  28:09.9834
18 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 21  28:10.3641
19 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 21  28:20.5181
20 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 21  28:21.3942
21 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 21  28:43.0622
22 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 18  28:32.9793
DNF Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF  9  16:19.3303
DNF Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF  1   1:24.2389
DNF Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X

VIDEO: Craig Lowndes reflects on scoring 100 V8 race wins

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]