Lorenzo extends winning streak in Catalunya

Jorge Lorenzo

Jorge Lorenzo

Jorge Lorenzo has closed to within a point of MotoGP championship leader Valentino Rossi after recording a commanding victory at the Catalunya Grand Prix.

The Yamaha rider made no mistakes once again to complete a lights-to-flag win at the Barcelona circuit as the former double world champion extended his winning run to four races.

Lorenzo catapulted into the lead at the start which he refused to give up for the entire race, despite coming under pressure from team-mate Rossi, who was forced to settle for second.

Marquez slotted into second spot on the opening lap but his challenge soon came to an abrupt halt when he dropped his Honda at the hairpin on lap four.

The reigning world champion was clearly frustrated at his error which saw him record his third retirement of the season.

Rossi capitalised on the mistake to surge into second spot where he set his sights on leader Lorenzo.

The drama continued to unfold behind when Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso crashed out of third position, handing the position briefly to the pole sitting Suzuki of Aleix Espargaro.

However, a crash for Espargaro ultimately awarded third to a hard charging Dani Pedrosa, which he maintained until the chequered flag.

Ducati’s Andrea Iannone emerged victorious in a race long battle with Tech 3 Yamaha’s Bradley Smith for fourth.

The sister Suzuki of Maverick Vinales finished sixth ahead of Scott Redding, Stefan Bradl, Danilo Petrucci and Alvaro Bautista.

Australia’s Jack Miller bounced back from a run of consecutive retirements to score his career best premier class finish in 11th position for LCR Honda.

Result: MotoGP Catalunya Grand Prix

Position Rider Bike Laps Gap
1 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 25
2 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 25 +0.885s
3 Daniel Pedrosa Honda 25 +19.455s
4 Andrea Iannone Ducati 25 +24.925s
5 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 25 +27.782s
6 Maverick Viñales Suzuki 25 +29.559s
7 Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda 25 +36.424s
8 Stefan Bradl Yamaha Forward 25 +42.103s
9 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati 25 +49.350s
10 Álvaro Bautista Gresini Aprilia 25 +52.569s
11 Jack Miller LCR Honda 25 +53.666s
12 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda 25 +55.765s
13 Loris Baz Yamaha Forward 25 +55.832s
14 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Ducati 25 +1:09.037s
15 Alex de Angelis ART/Aprilia 25 +1:25.263s
16 Héctor Barberá Pramac Ducati 24 +1 Lap
DNF Aleix Espargaró Suzuki 20 Retirement
DNF Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 13 Retirement
DNF Marco Melandri Aprilia 6 Retirement
DNF Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 6 Retirement
DNF Pol Espargaró Tech 3 Yamaha 4 Retirement
DNF Marc Márquez Honda 3 Retirement
DNF Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 3 Retirement
DNF Yonny Hernández Ducati 2 Retirement
DNS Karel Abraham Honda 0 Withdrawn

Championship Standings

Position Rider Points
1 Valentino Rossi 138
2 Jorge Lorenzo 137
3 Andrea Iannone 94
4 Andrea Dovizioso 83
5 Marc Marquez 69
6 Bradley Smith 68
7 Cal Crutchlow 47
8 Maverick Vinales 46
9 Pol Espargaro 45
10 Dani Pedrosa 39
11 Danilo Petrucci 39
12 Aleix Espargaro 31
13 Scott Redding 27
14 Yonny Hernandez 26
15 Hector Barbera 16
16 Loris Baz 13
17 Alvaro Bautista 11
18 Jack Miller 11
19 Stefan Bradl 9
20 Michele Pirro 8
21 Nicky Hayden 8
22 Eugene Laverty 7
23 Hiroshi Aoyama 5

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]