Power edges Pagenaud for Texas IndyCar pole

Will Power has claimed his third straight pole position at Texas

Will Power has claimed his third straight pole position at Texas

Will Power has led Team Penske to another stunning display of raw pace by qualifying fastest for the Firestone 600 IndyCar race at Texas Motor Speedway.

Power was the first of the 23 cars to set a time in the two-lap average qualifying format and was pleasantly surprised to see his effort prevail after a nervous wait.

Toowoomba’s reigning IndyCar series champion finished with an average of 218.51mph (351.65km/h) ahead of team-mates Simon Pagenaud (218.44, 351.54) and Helio Castroneves (218.06, 350.93).

It was the third consecutive year Power has led the way in Texas qualifying which sees him now with tied for fifth with Penske consultant Rick Mears on the all-time IndyCar qualifying list with 40 poles.

Andretti driver Carlos Munoz upset what was shaping as a Team Penske sweep out of the front two rows when he nabbed fourth fastest.

Munoz bumped series leader Juan Montoya to fifth ahead of Graham Rahal and Scott Dixon.

Dixon’s Ganassi team-mates Tony Kanaan, Charlie Kimball and Sage Karam completed the top 10.

Power was relieved to have held onto the top spot, fearing he was a sitting duck after being sent out first.

“I thought when I drew P1 … I thought ‘oh man’,” Power said.

“But the track didn’t change much (and) I’m really happy and see what we can do tomorrow night.”

Dixon was the second last driver to fire onto the track for the single car runs but an opening lap run of 217.71mph (350.37km/h) would put him out of the equation for a more prominent starting berth.

“For the most part it’s about having a consistent car for a stint. You slow down about 15mph (24.1km/h) in a stint here.

“Our car seems pretty good on long runs here so we will see what the race brings.”

Montoya goes into the Texas round on 315 points ahead of Power’s 294 with Dixon third on 252.

See below for qualifying results

Pos. Car Driver Manufacturer Total Time Two-Lap Avg. Speed
1 1 Will Power Chevrolet 47.9140 218.519mph
2 22 Simon Pagenaud Chevrolet 47.9580 218.441mph
3 3 Helio Castroneves Chevrolet 48.0398 218.069mph
4 26 Carlos Munoz Honda 48.0923 217.831mph
5 2 Juan Pablo Montoya Chevrolet 48.1589 217.530mph
6 15 Graham Rahal Honda 48.1792 217.438mph
7 9 Scott Dixon Chevrolet 48.1853 217.411mph
8 10 Tony Kanaan Chevrolet 48.2016 217.337mph
9 83 Charlie Kimball Chevrolet 48.2047 217.323mph
10 8 Sage Karam (R) Chevrolet 48.2942 216.920mph
11 27 Marco Andretti Honda 48.3042 216.876mph
12 7 James Jakes Honda 48.3067 216.864mph
13 14 Takuma Sato Honda 48.3465 216.686mph
14 67 Josef Newgarden Chevrolet 48.4530 216.210mph
15 20 Ed Carpenter Chevrolet 48.4558 216.197mph
16 19 Tristan Vautier Honda 48.5160 215.929mph
17 41 Jack Hawksworth Honda 48.5853 215.621mph
18 11 Sebastien Bourdais Chevrolet 48.6569 215.303mph
19 5 Ryan Briscoe Honda 48.6888 215.162mph
20 98 Gabby Chaves (R) Honda 48.6926 215.146mph
21 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Honda 48.7198 215.026mph
22 18 Pippa Mann Honda 48.8041 214.654mph
23 4 Stefano Coletti (R) Chevrolet 49.4315 211.930mph

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]