Briscoe earns call-up for Texas IndyCar race

Ryan Briscoe returns to James Hinchcliffe's seat at the Texas race this weekend

Ryan Briscoe returns to James Hinchcliffe’s seat at the Texas race this weekend

Ryan Briscoe will return as substitute for the injured James Hinchcliffe at the Texas Motor Speedway IndyCar race this weekend.

The Australian filled Hinchcliffe’s seat at the Indy 500 but made way for Conor Daly at the double-header Detroit street race last weekend.

Briscoe was unavailable for the drive at the Belle Isle circuit due to test duties for the Corvette team alongside Jan Magnussen and Antonio Garcia at Le Mans.

Tristan Vautier, who performed solidly with a fourth in Detroit, will continue in the Dale Coyne #19 entry at Texas.

In another switch Rodolfo Gonzalez moves aside for Pippa Mann in the #18 Dale Coyne machine.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the INDYCAR SERIES. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

Meanwhile IndyCar has announced modifications to the Honda and Chevrolet aero body kits for Texas.

The cars will see the addition of closure panels on the rear wheel guards which will also be in use for the Pocono and Auto Club Speedway events this season.

“This has been a collaborative effort with both manufacturers and they have been working on these since the Indianapolis 500 qualifications,” IndyCar vice president of Technology Will Phillips said.

“These closure panels serve as a blocker so air cannot flow through the rear wheel guards

“This will ultimately raise the point at which cars would experience lift when traveling backwards.”

The rear wing angle for all cars has been ordered to be set between -6 and -10.5 degrees to add more downforce compared to last year’s event at Texas.

The measures come after a string of frightening incidents in the lead-up to the Indy 500 where cars where launched into the air following crashes.


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]