Lorenzo scores commanding Mugello win

Jorge Lorenzo proved untouchable in the Italian Grand Prix

Jorge Lorenzo proved untouchable in the Italian Grand Prix

Jorge Lorenzo continued his winning streak with a commanding ride to victory in the Italian Grand Prix which saw Marc Marquez’s title defence suffer another setback.

The factory Yamaha rider assumed the lead in the early stages at Mugello which he refused to relinquish as he secured his third consecutive win.

The victory moved the former double world champion to within six points of championship leader Valentino Rossi.

Once in the lead, Lorenzo calmly stretched his lead over the chasing pack while a titanic scrap for the remaining podium positions developed.

Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso held second spot while Marquez surged up to third having started from a lowly 13th on the grid.

Polesitter Andrea Iannone moved into second once team-mate Dovizioso began to fade with Marquez snapping at his heels as the race ticked towards the final third.

Dovizioso was eventually forced into a premature retirement.

The podium fight took a dramatic twist with six laps remaining when Marquez crashed out of the race.

This gave Iannone the advantage but he was unable to relax due to a hard charging Rossi, buoyed by a huge home crowd.

In the end, Iannone held on to finish second with Rossi third and Honda’s Dani Pedrosa fourth, which is his best result since his return to the premier class following his injury layoff.

Tech 3 Yamaha’s Bradley Smith came home in fifth with team-mate Pol Espargaro in sixth.

Suzuki’s Maverick Vinales, Michele Pirro, Danilo Petrucci and Yonny Hernandez completed the top 10.

Cal Crutchlow crashed heavily, while occupying fifth, in the closing laps in what proved to be a disappointing day for the LCR Honda squad, which was compounded by a retirement from Australia’s Jack Miller.

Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro also suffered a crash early on but luckily he escaped without causing further damage to his injured thumb.

Result: MotoGP Italian Grand Prix, Mugello 

Position Rider Team Gap
1 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha
2 Andrea Iannone Ducati +5.563s
3 Valentino Rossi Yamaha +6.661s
4 Daniel Pedrosa Honda +9.978s
5 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha +15.284s
6 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha +15.665s
7 Maverick Vinales Suzuki +23.805s
8 Michele Pirro Ducati +29.152s
9 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Racing Ducati +32.008s
10 Yonny Hernandez Pramac Racing Ducati +34.571s
11 Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda +38.553s
12 Loris Baz Forward Racing Yamaha +42.158s
13 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing Ducati +44.801s
14 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Gresini +50.435s
15 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda +53.060s
16 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Racing Ducati +1:15.265s
17 Karel Abraham AB Motoracing Honda +1:15.381s
18 Marco Melandri Aprilia Gresini +1:41.840s
DNF Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda Retirement
DNF Marc Marquez Honda Retirement
DNF Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Retirement
DNF Stefan Bradl Forward Racing Yamaha Retirement
DNF Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda Retirement
DNF Aleix Espargaro Suzuki Retirement
DNF Jack Miller LCR Honda Retirement
DNF Alex de Angelis IodaRacing Project Retirement

MotoGP Championship Standings 

Position Rider Points
1 Valentino Rossi 118
2 Jorge Lorenzo 112
3 Andrea Dovizioso 83
4 Andrea Iannone 81
5 Marc Marquez 69
6 Bradley Smith 57
7 Cal Crutchlow 47
8 Pol Espargaro 45
9 Maverick Vinales 36
10 Danilo Petrucci 32
11 Aleix Espargaro 31
12 Yonny Hernandez 26
13 Daniel Pedrosa 23
14 Scott Redding 18
15 Hector Barbera 16
16 Loris Baz 10
17 Michele Pirro 8
18 Nicky Hayden 8
19 Jack Miller 6
20 Hiroshi Aoyama 5
21 Alvaro Bautista 5
22 Eugene Laverty 3
23 Stefan Bradl 1

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]