Iannone earns Ducati pole as Marquez falters

Andrea Iannone on his way to pole position at Mugello

Andrea Iannone on his way to pole position at Mugello

Andrea Iannone overcame injury to put Ducati on pole position for the Italian Grand Prix at Mugello while world champion Marc Marquez struggled.

The Italian, riding with a hairline fracture to his shoulder, claimed his maiden premier class pole position with the fastest ever MotoGP lap around Mugello.

Iannone’s 1:46.489s was 0.095s quicker than Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo, who had topped the majority of the session, having set record pace in free practice.

It proved to be Ducati’s first pole position at its home circuit since Casey Stoner’s triumph in 2007.

Andrea Dovizioso completed a strong day for Ducati with the Italian securing the final place on the front row of the grid in third.

While Ducati starred, Marquez endured a difficult day which began with the Spaniard missing the cut in practice to claim a place in Q2.

Worse was to follow with the Honda man eclipsed by Yonny Hernandez and Aleix Espargaro in Q1, leaving him to start from a lowly 13th on the grid.

Cal Crutchlow emerged in fourth position with another impressive performance on the satellite LCR Honda ahead of Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro, who showed no signs of the thumb injury he is carrying.

The third Ducati of Michele Piro was sixth 0.005s in front of Honda’s Dani Pedrosa.

Local hero Valentino Rossi was unable to match the pace of the front runners which left the nine-time world champion in eighth.

Suzuki’s Maverick Vinales was ninth while Tech 3 Yamaha’s Pol Espargaro completed the top 10.

Australia’s Jack Miller will start Sunday’s Italian Grand Prix from 23rd on the grid for LCR Honda.

Result: MotoGP Italian Grand Prix Qualifying, Mugello 

Position Rider Team Time Gap
1 Andrea Iannone Ducati 1:46.489s
2 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1:46.584s 0.095s
3 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1:46.610s 0.121s
4 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1:46.657s 0.168s
5 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki 1:46.854s 0.365s
6 Michele Pirro Ducati 1:46.870s 0.381s
7 Daniel Pedrosa Honda 1:46.875s 0.386s
8 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1:46.923s 0.434s
9 Maverick Vinales Suzuki 1:46.934s 0.445s
10 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha 1:47.050s 0.561s
11 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 1:47.090s 0.601s
12 Yonny Hernandez Pramac Racing Ducati 1:47.423s 0.934s
13 Marc Marquez Honda 1:47.240s Q1
14 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Racing Ducati 1:47.497s Q1
15 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing Ducati 1:47.978s Q1
16 Stefan Bradl Forward Racing Yamaha 1:48.047s Q1
17 Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda 1:48.120s Q1
18 Loris Baz Forward Racing Yamaha 1:48.133s Q1
19 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 1:48.298s Q1
20 Karel Abraham AB Motoracing Honda 1:48.366s Q1
21 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Gresini 1:48.477s Q1
22 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Racing 1:48.503s Q1
23 Jack Miller LCR Honda 1:48.572s Q1
24 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda 1:48.638s Q1
25 Alex de Angelis IodaRacing Project 1:49.198s Q1
26 Marco Melandri Aprilia Gresini 1:51.391s Q1

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]