D’Ambrosio victorious after di Grassi exclusion

Lucas di Grassi

Lucas di Grassi

Jerome D’Ambrosio has inherited victory after race winner Lucas di Grassi was excluded from the FIA Formula E round in Berlin.

ABT driver di Grassi had dominated the race having moved into the lead on the opening, but officials stripped him of the lights-to-flag win after his car failed a post race scrutineering check.

Race stewards discovered di Grassi’s car had sported modifications to its front wing which have been deemed to have breached Article 3.1 of 2014/2015 of the FIA Formula E Technical Regulations.

The ABT squad, who decided against appealing the decision, argued the changes had been made following repairs and offered no advantage.

As result of the exclusion, D’Ambrosio, who enjoyed a strong race from sixth on the grid, has been awarded the win for Dragon Racing.

Former Toro Rosso driver Sebastien Buemi has been promoted to second after fending off the sister Dragon Racing entry of Loic Duval, who completes the altered podium.

China Racing’s Nelson Piquet Jr has opened up a two point lead over Buemi at the top of the standings with his fourth place finish on the Berlin streets.

Nick Heidfeld was overtaken by Duval in Piquet in the closing stages of the race, which saw him miss out on a podium as he crossed the line in fifth.

Stephane Sarrazin managed to hang onto sixth ahead of Andretti Autosports Jean-Eric Vergne.

Britain’s Sam Bird, Vitantonio Liuzzi and Nicolas Prost completed the top 10.

Poleman Jarno Trulli finished two laps down despite holding onto second spot early on in the race.

The FIA Formula E Championship heads to Moscow for the penultimate round of the season on June 6.

Result: FIA Formula E Championship, Berlin

Position Driver Team Laps Time/Gap
1 Jérôme D’Ambrosio Dragon 33
2 Sébastien Buemi e.dams 33 +2.433s
3 Loïc Duval Dragon 33 +3.508s
4 Nelson Piquet Jr. China Racing 33 +3.975s
5 Nick Heidfeld Venturi 33 +13.046s
6 Stéphane Sarrazin Venturi 33 +13.335s
7 Jean-Éric Vergne Andretti Autosport 33 +13.678s
8 Sam Bird Virgin Racing 33 +14.055s
9 Vitantonio Liuzzi Trulli GP 33 +15.636s
10 Nicolas Prost e.dams 33 +16.602s
11 António Félix da Costa Amlin Aguri 33 +16.797s
12 Jaime Alguersuari Virgin Racing 33 +20.594s
13 Scott Speed Andretti Autosport 33 +21.149s
14 Daniel Abt ABT 33 +23.688s
15 Charles Pic China Racing 33 +25.491s
16 Salvador Durán Amlin Aguri 33 +44.157s
17 Bruno Senna Mahindra 33 +46.257s
18 Karun Chandhok Mahindra 33 +52.703s
19 Jarno Trulli Trulli GP 31 +2 Laps
Lucas di Grassi Spark-Renault 33 Disqualified

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]