Winterbottom completes Prodrive domination

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom held off Fabian Coulthard to win Race 12 and hand Prodrive a unique record at the NP300 Navara Winton Super Sprint.

Winterbottom’s success saw Prodrive become the first team to sweep all of the Dunlop Series and V8 Supercars Championship poles and races over a weekend.

The 33-year-old had to endure a 31 lap stint to the chequered flag on soft tyres after a mid-race Safety Car triggered by a crash for team-mate and race leader Chaz Mostert.

Coulthard stalked Winterbottom for much of the stint before falling away in the closing laps, while Craig Lowndes, Michael Caruso and Garth Tander completed the top five.

“I was struggling in those last 10 laps, the tyres were gone and Fabs had a big push,” said Winterbottom, who took the championship lead with the win.

“I tried to save the tyre and it came back, which was surprising. It’s an awesome result.”

Lowndes had been one of just four drivers to start on softs, shooting from eighth on the grid to the lead in the opening two laps.

Mostert then wrestled the place back during a spirited battle while both ran hards in the second stint, before spinning out of the lead at Turn 4 at the halfway mark.

That subsequent Safety Car sent the entire field – bar a radio deficient Will Davison – to the pits for their second stops, where soft tyres were bolted onto all cars.

Lowndes lined up for the restart ahead of Winterbottom and Coulthard, but could not fend off the duo for long on his soft rubber, which had already run 10 laps at the start.

Caruso’s Nissan showed strong tyre life as the #23 Altima cut through from 10th at the restart to an eventual fourth.

Tander’s fifth place came after joining team-mates James Courtney and Tim Slade on starting with the soft rubber to gain early track position.

David Reynolds scored a solid sixth ahead of Courtney and Scott Pye, who recorded DJR Team Penske’s best result of the season to date in eighth.

Scott McLaughlin and Jamie Whincup had quiet races to round out the top 10.

Eleventh place finisher Rick Kelly was arguably the biggest benefactor of the mid-race Safety Car having run last following a delay in his first pitstop.

Shane van Gisbergen and Davison were clear losers in the shake-up, eventually finishing at the back of the pack.

The Kiwi made a third stop shortly after the full course yellow, while Davison was swamped when restarting in the lead on used hards ahead of his final trip to pitlane.

Result: V8 Supercars Championship Race 12, Winton 

1 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 67 01:40:41.5755
2 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 67 01:40:43.4735
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 67 01:40:47.3995
4 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 67 01:40:59.2480
5 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 67 01:41:04.2462
6 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 67 01:41:05.6982
7 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 67 01:41:06.0630
8 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 67 01:41:07.8010
9 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 67 01:41:11.3913
10 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 67 01:41:12.5134
11 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 67 01:41:15.1256
12 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 67 01:41:15.2183
13 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 67 01:41:18.8384
14 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 67 01:41:29.7198
15 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 67 01:41:31.2413
16 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 67 01:41:34.6631
17 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 67 01:41:34.7949
18 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 67 01:41:35.2998
19 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 67 01:41:35.9013
20 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 67 01:41:38.4629
21 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 67 01:41:41.5777
22 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 67 01:41:49.4449
23 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 67 01:41:51.7038
24 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 67 01:42:08.2445
25 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 63 01:41:39.4567

Championship Standings 

1 Mark Winterbottom 937
2 Craig Lowndes 925
3 Fabian Coulthard 851
4 James Courtney 810
5 Jamie Whincup 801
6 Garth Tander 734
7 Shane Van Gisbergen 731
8 Chaz Mostert 714
9 David Reynolds 708
10 Rick Kelly 620
11 Todd Kelly 551
12 Jason Bright 537
13 Will Davison 513
14 Michael Caruso 496
15 Nick Percat 479
16 Scott McLaughlin 459
17 Tim Slade 434
18 James Moffat 426
19 Dale Wood 401
20 Lee Holdsworth 394
21 Tim Blanchard 389
22 Andre Heimgartner 370
23 David Wall 333
24 Ashley Walsh 282
25 Scott Pye 263
26 Marcos Ambrose 125

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]