Unstoppable Waters wins second Dunlop heat

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters extended his Dunlop Series winning streak to five consecutive victories with a measured lights-to-flag drive in the second heat at Winton.

The Prodrive Racing Australia driver was initially outgunned at the start by Andrew Jones although the championship leader managed to hold the lead at Turn 1.

Having converted his pole into the lead, Waters quickly began to move away from Jones’ Commodore, edging a gap lap by lap until the chequered flag.

Jones was unable to pose a real threat to Waters with the Brad Jones Racing driver forced to settle for second 1.4s adrift of the Prodrive Ford Falcon.

There was little action at the sharp end of the field as reigning champion Paul Dumbrell enjoyed a quiet drive to claim the final place on the podium in third.

The Matt White Motorsport duo of Jack Le Brocq and Chris Pither finished fourth and fifth respectively.

The battle for sixth spot raged throughout the race culminating in Shae Davies hanging onto the position, despite coming under pressure from Todd Hazelwood and Eggleston Motorsport’s Ant Pedersen.

Paul Morris finished ninth having won a battle with Garry Jacobson in the closing stages.

Garry Rogers Motorsport’s James Golding was unable to build on his impressive fifth place finish in Race 1 after suffering terminal damage in start line incident with Jesse Dixon.

Dixon collided with the Golding’s car which pitched the former Utes driver briefly into the air. The subsequent damage forced him into retirement along with Golding.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 2, Winton

1 TEAM ENZED PRA Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 18 25:59.4337
2 Brad Jones Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:00.8583
3 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:02.1018
4 MW Motorsport Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 18 26:03.6863
5 Ice Break Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG 18 26:05.8878
6 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 18 26:21.7843
7 iseek Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 18 26:22.1285
8 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:22.5198
9 United Racing Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 18 26:24.1644
10 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:24.5151
11 Alphabet / Bursons Auto Parts Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:25.6650
12 THR Developments/SA Racing Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:32.6872
13 Cavalier Homes/Falcon Spares Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 18 26:37.2399
14 Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 18 26:38.2258
15 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:40.7664
16 THR Developments/SA Racing Jason Leoncini Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:48.3815
17 Street Fighter Performance Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 18 26:48.9962
18 Super Black Racing Simon Evans Ford Falcon FG 18 26:50.0251
19 Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 18 26:53.8095
20 Bryce Fullwood Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VE 18 26:55.6083
21 Matt Hansen Racing Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:56.3139
22 Arcoplate / Penrite Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:04.7122
23 Challenger / Simplex Brett Hobson Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:05.6675
24 Battery World Racing Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 17 26:10.4973
DNF Gippsland Body Building GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VE2
DNF Hayman Reese Racing Jesse Dixon Ford Falcon FG

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]