Perfect Waters completes Winton clean sweep

Cameron Waters on his way to a Winton clean sweep

Cameron Waters on his way to a Winton clean sweep

Cameron Waters issued a statement to the Dunlop Series field as he completed his second clean sweep of the season with victory in the third heat at Winton.

The race was once again decided at the first corner after the Prodrive Racing Australia won the drag race with Andrew Jones off the start.

Waters did make slight contact with Jones as he took the lead into Turn 1, but with a clear track in front of him he marched towards another dominant win by 9.9s from the Brad Jones Racing entry.

A second clean sweep of the season has pushed Waters, who has seven wins this year, into a comfortable 118 point lead at the top of the championship standings.

“It has been an awesome weekend I’ve topped every session, I’m wordless,” said Waters.

There was plenty of action behind with Paul Dumbrell, Chris Pither and Jack Le Brocq involved in a thrilling battle for the final podium spot.

Despite struggling for outright pace, Dumbrell managed to fend off the Matt White Motorsport duo for the position at the flag.

Shae Davies came home sixth as he slipped away from the front runners after a strong start to the race that saw him occupy fourth early on.

Aaren Russell was seventh ahead of Todd Hazelwood and Super Black Racing’s Simon Evans, who stormed through the field to ninth.

A last gasp overtake on Paul Morris on the final lap saw James Golding complete the top 10 with an impressive drive from the back of the grid.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 3, Winton 

1 TEAM ENZED PRA Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 18 26:07.5002
2 Brad Jones Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:17.4552
3 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:23.2778
4 Ice Break Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG 18 26:23.6285
5 MW Motorsport Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 18 26:23.9557
6 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 18 26:26.2834
7 Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 18 26:32.7774
8 iseek Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 18 26:33.6484
9 Super Black Racing Simon Evans Ford Falcon FG 18 26:34.8821
10 Gippsland Body Building GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:38.0998
11 United Racing Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 18 26:38.5997
12 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:39.7772
13 THR Developments/SA Racing Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:43.6705
14 Arcoplate / Penrite Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:44.2040
15 Hayman Reese Racing Jesse Dixon Ford Falcon FG 18 26:45.3296
16 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:49.3954
17 Matt Hansen Racing Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE2 18 26:56.1965
18 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:00.1597
19 THR Developments/SA Racing Jason Leoncini Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:02.2595
20 Bryce Fullwood Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VE 18 27:02.7354
21 Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 18 27:06.8608
22 Street Fighter Performance Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 18 27:11.6069
23 Cavalier Homes/Falcon Spares Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 18 27:15.7613
24 Battery World Racing Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:16.4081
25 Alphabet / Bursons Auto Parts Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:23.5755
26 Challenger / Simplex Brett Hobson Holden Commodore VE2 17 26:13.4943

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]