Waters continues winning streak at Winton

Cameron Waters

Cameron Waters

Prodrive Racing Australia young gun Cameron Waters racked up his fifth Dunlop Series victory of the season with a dominant run in the Winton opener.

The Mildura born racer didn’t put a foot wrong after converting his pole position into a relatively straight forward win in the 18 lap heat at the Victorian circuit.

Waters was unable to completely relax with Andrew Jones in his mirrors for the entire race, although the Brad Jones Racing driver was unable to really challenge for the lead.

Reigning champion Paul Dumbrell managed to finish third despite coming under severe pressure from Matt White Motorsport’s Jack Le Brocq in the closing stages.

The race was not without incident with race control forced to deploy the Safety Car after an eventful opening lap.

Slow starts from Le Brocq and Chris Pither saw the pair both run wide at Turn 1, which triggered a multi car incident as they tried to defend their positions.

Garry Jacobson was caught up in the bottleneck leading to contact with Macauley Jones, which forced the latter out of the race.

Meanwhile, Simon Evans ran wide at Turn 2 before Jason Leoncini spun off the circuit at high speed later in the lap.

There was plenty of action once racing resumed highlighted by a strong drive to fifth from Garry Rogers Motorsport’s James Golding, while a recovering Pither salvaged sixth.

A fighting drive from Ant Pedersen earned him seventh position ahead of Jesse Dixon, Josh Kean and Paul Morris, who rounded out the top 10.

The Dunlop Series will contest two more 18 lap races on Sunday.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 1, Winton

1 TEAM ENZED PRA Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 18 27:10.5845
2 Brad Jones Racing Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:13.3975
3 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:14.2386
4 MW Motorsport Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 18 27:14.8007
5 Gippsland Body Building GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:17.8182
6 Ice Break Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG 18 27:18.2321
7 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:24.5924
8 Hayman Reese Racing Jesse Dixon Ford Falcon FG 18 27:26.4354
9 Alphabet / Bursons Auto Parts Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:31.3905
10 United Racing Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 18 27:32.4031
11 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 18 27:32.7784
12 THR Developments/SA Racing Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:35.0408
13 iseek Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 18 27:35.2915
14 Super Black Racing Simon Evans Ford Falcon FG 18 27:35.6863
15 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:36.2513
16 Arcoplate / Penrite Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VE2 18 27:43.4664
17 Cavalier Homes/Falcon Spares Matthew Chahda Ford Falcon FG 18 27:48.1490
18 Street Fighter Performance Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 18 27:48.6168
19 Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 18 28:00.9895
20 Bryce Fullwood Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VE 18 28:01.4873
21 THR Developments/SA Racing Jason Leoncini Holden Commodore VE2 18 28:02.5471
22 Challenger / Simplex Brett Hobson Holden Commodore VE2 18 28:03.5045
23 Matt Hansen Racing Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE2 18 28:03.6652
24 Battery World Racing Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 18 28:33.4691
25 Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 16 28:18.6550
DNF PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]