Dominant Marquez claims Le Mans pole

Marc Marquez

Marc Marquez

Marc Marquez claimed his third pole position of the MotoGP season with a dominant performance in qualifying for the French Grand Prix.

The reigning world champion set the pace from the start of the session before going on to better his time twice on his way to securing his 25th premier class pole position.

In the end, the Honda rider emerged with a personal best of 1:32.246s, which was 0.2s shy of his 2014 pole position lap at the Le Mans.

A late effort from Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso saw him shoot to second although the Italian was more than half a second adrift of Marquez.

Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo was unable to repeat his session topping practice pace as he completed the front row of the grid in third.

LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow will head up the second row in fourth, with the Brit narrowly ahead of Ducati’s Andrea Iannone, who is competing despite dislocating his shoulder in a testing accident earlier this week.

Bradley Smith secured sixth spot on the grid with the satellite Monster Yamaha rider eclipsing the pace of championship leader and factory rider Valentino Rossi.

Returning Honda rider Dani Pedrosa will start his first race since the season opener in Qatar from eighth, alongside Danilo Petrucci.

Aleix Espargaro emerged as the top Suzuki rider to complete the top 10.

Australia’s Jack Miller will start the fifth round of the world championship from 18th following a strong ride on the Open Class LCR Honda.

Result: MotoGP French Grand Prix Qualifying, Le Mans 

Position Rider Bike Time Gap
1 Marc Márquez Honda 1:32.246s
2 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1:32.749s +0.503s
3 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1:32.846s +0.600s
4 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1:32.897s +0.651s
5 Andrea Iannone Ducati 1:33.001s +0.755s
6 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 1:33.299s +1.053s
7 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1:33.352s +1.106s
8 Daniel Pedrosa Honda 1:33.419s +1.173s
9 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati 1:33.556s +1.310s
10 Aleix Espargaró Suzuki 1:33.665s +1.419s
11 Yonny Hernández Pramac Ducati 1:33.714s +1.468s
12 Pol Espargaró Tech 3 Yamaha 1:33.724s +1.478s
13 Maverick Viñales Suzuki 1:34.245s +1.999s
14 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 1:34.267s +2.021s
15 Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda 1:34.551s +2.305s
16 Stefan Bradl Forward Yamaha 1:34.575s +2.329s
17 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Ducati 1:34.833s +2.587s
18 Jack Miller LCR Honda 1:34.858s +2.612s
19 Héctor Barberá Avintia Ducati 1:34.870s +2.624s
20 Karel Abraham AB Honda 1:34.940s +2.694s
21 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda 1:34.947s +2.701s
22 Loris Baz Forward Yamaha 1:35.456s +3.210s
23 Álvaro Bautista Gresini Aprilia 1:35.458s +3.212s
24 Alex de Angelis ART/Aprilia 1:35.680s +3.434s
25 Marco Melandri Gresini Aprilia 1:37.522s +5.276s

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]