Mostert storms to the top in second practice

Chaz Mostert

Chaz Mostert

Prodrive Racing Australia’s Chaz Mostert lit up the timing screen as he topped the second one hour practice session at Winton Raceway.

Mostert saved his best for a run on hard tyres in the closing stages of the hitout to scale the top of the timesheets with a 1:23.01s effort at the Victorian circuit.

The Ford driver, who completed runs on both soft and hard compound rubber, climbed to the top in the final minutes of the session before going on to better his time in the Falcon FGX.

Nissan’s James Moffat emerged in second spot 0.2s adrift of Mostert with his best effort arriving on soft compound tyres.

The factory Holden of James Courtney was third.

“It is a credit to the Prodrive guys who have put in some hard work over the last couple of weeks,” said Mostert.

“Perth was good and hopefully we can be good here too.

“The strength from this year’s car compared to last year’s is you can put it where you want it. We have been struggling for turn and we are getting there.”

Garry Rogers Motorsport’s Scott McLaughlin showed signs of strong pace in fourth ahead of Bottle-O Racing’s David Reynolds and Brad Jones Racing’s Fabian Coulthard.

Shane van Gisbergen, Michael Caruso, Lee Holdsworth and Craig Lowndes rounded out the top 10.

Championship contenders Jamie Whincup and Mark Winterbottom struggled for outright pace in 19th and 20th positions respectively.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 2, Winton 

1 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:23.01
2 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:23.26 0:00.2523
3 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:23.45 0:00.4402
4 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:23.50 0:00.4881
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team D.Reynolds/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG/X 1:23.50 0:00.4899
6 Freightliner Racing F.Coulthard/L.Youlden Holden Commodore VF 1:23.52 0:00.5138
7 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:23.57 0:00.5590
8 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:23.62 0:00.6077
9 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:23.62 0:00.6141
10 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:23.63 0:00.6150
11 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:23.67 0:00.6583
12 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:23.69 0:00.6821
13 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:23.80 0:00.7910
14 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:23.85 0:00.8388
15 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 1:23.87 0:00.8577
16 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:23.87 0:00.8581
17 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:23.94 0:00.9303
18 Erebus Motorsport V8 W.Davison/J.Le Brocq Mercedes E63 AMG 1:23.95 0:00.9431
19 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:23.98 0:00.9681
20 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:24.03 0:01.0210
21 Super Black Racing A.Heimgartner/ A.Pedersen Ford Falcon FG/X 1:24.07 0:01.0642
22 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:24.21 0:01.1980
23 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 1:24.22 0:01.2124
24 Supercheap Auto Racing T.Slade/T.D’Alberto Holden Commodore VF 1:24.46 0:01.4510
25 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:24.60 0:01.587


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]