CAMS parks Gold Star as F3 fields dwindle

The Sandown season opener attracted eight cars

The Sandown season opener attracted eight cars

The Confederation of Australian Motor Sport will not award its long-running Gold Star this season.

First awarded in 1957, the Gold Star has been given to the winner of the Formula 3 Australian Drivers’ Championship over the last 10 years.

CAMS says it has elected to pull the honour due to a lack of competitor numbers.

The opening round of the season at Sandown last month saw just eight cars take the start, while only seven cars currently have confirmed drivers for Phillip Island later this month.

“A recent CAMS review of criteria has determined that for the CAMS Gold Star to be awarded, a minimum number of entrants is required at each round of the Championship in which the CAMS Gold Star is contested,” read a CAMS statement.

“As a result the CAMS Gold Star will not be contested in the Formula 3 Championship in 2015.”

While its new self-run open-wheel category, Formula 4, will kick-off its inaugural season in July, CAMS insists it will work towards reinstating the Gold Star to F3 in future years.

“The CAMS Gold Star will remain one of CAMS’ most highly valued and prestigious Championships,” the statement continued.

“There is little doubt that the Gold Star has a great history and the many great Australian drivers that have won the Gold Star is something that CAMS wishes to preserve.

“CAMS remains committed to working with the management of the Australian Formula 3 Championship to ensure the ongoing viability and success of this category and CAMS will work with Formula 3 management with the aim of reinstating the CAMS Gold Star to the category in the future.”

The parking of the Gold Star has come just over 12 months after CAMS signed a new three-year Category Management Agreement with Formula 3 Management Pty Ltd.

A statement from F3M boasted of the category’s competitive nature over recent seasons while stressing a desire to hear more from CAMS on plans for its future.

“Formula 3 has for many years identified the weakness of open wheeled racing in this country and was heartened by CAMS endorsement of the FIA’s open wheel pathway from F4 to F3,” it read in part.

“Formula 3 Management and its competitors now await eagerly the CAMS vision to ensure young Australian drivers are able to embrace the FIA pathway.

“It will be good for CAMS to give support and encouragement to current drivers and teams to ensure viability and stability well into the future.

“CAMS have stated on record that they have a plan to assist and build Formula 3 in Australia moving forward.

“Formula 3 Management and all members of the F3 family look forward to hearing this vision and working to grow open wheel racing in Australia in the future.”

Honour Roll – CAMS Gold Star winners, 1957-2014




1957 Lex Davison Ferrari
1958 Stan Jones Maserati 250F
1959 Len Lukey Cooper-Climax
1960 Alec Mildren Cooper-Maserati
1961 Bill Patterson Cooper-Climax
1962 Bib Stillwell Cooper-Climax
1963 Bib Stillwell Repco-Brabham-Climax
1964 Bib Stillwell Repco-Brabham-Climax
1965 Bib Stillwell Repco-Brabham-Climax
1966 Spencer Martin Repco-Brabham
1967 Spencer Martin Repco-Brabham
1968 Kevin Bartlett Brabham-Alfa
1969 Kevin Bartlett Mildren-Alfa
1970 Leo Geoghegan Lotus-Waggott
1971 Max Stewart Mildren-Waggott
1972 Frank Matich Matich-Repco
1973 John McCormack Elfin MR5-Repco
1974 Max Stewart Lola T330
1975 John McCormack Elfin MR6
1976 John Leffler Lola T400
1977 John McCormack McLaren M23
1978 Graham McRae McRae GM3
1979 Johnnie Walker Lola T332
1980 Alfredo Costanzo Lola T430
1981 Alfredo Costanzo McLaren M26
1982 Alfredo Costanzo Tiga
1983 Alfredo Costanzo Tiga
1984 John Bowe Ralt RT4
1985 John Bowe Ralt RT4
1986 Graham Watson Ralt RT4
1987 David Brabham Ralt RT30
1988 Rohan Onslow Cheetah Mk8
1989 Rohan Onslow Ralt RT20
1990 Simon Kane Ralt RT21
1991 Mark Skaife SPA 003
1992 Mark Skaife SPA 003
1993 Mark Skaife Lola T91/50
1994 Paul Stokell Reynard 91D
1995 Paul Stokell Reynard 91D
1996 Paul Stokell Reynard 91D
1997 Jason Bright Reynard 91D
1998 Scott Dixon Reynard 92D
1999 Simon Wills Reynard 94D
2000 Simon Wills Reynard 94D
2001 Rick Kelly Reynard 94D
2002 Will Power Reynard 94D
2003 Daniel Gaunt Reynard 96D
2004 Neil McFayden Reynard 96D
2005 Aaron Caratti Dallara F304 Sodemo-Renault
2006 Ben Clucas Dallara F304 Spiess Opel
2007 Tim Macrow Dallara F304 Spiess Opel
2008 James Winslow Dallara F307 HWA Mercedes-Benz
2009 Joey Foster Dallara F307 HWA Mercedes-Benz
2010 Ben Barker Dallara F307 HWA Mercedes-Benz
2011 Chris Gilmour Dallara F307 HWA Mercedes-Benz
2012 James Winslow Dallara F307 HWA Mercedes-Benz
2013 Tim Macrow Dallara F307 HWA Mercedes-Benz
2014 Simon Hodge Mygale M11-Mercedes-Benz

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]