Measured Waters marches on at Barbagallo

Cameron Waters proved untouchable in Race 2 at Barbagallo

Cameron Waters proved untouchable in Race 2 at Barbagallo

Cameron Waters completed a dominant lights-to-flag victory in the second Dunlop Series heat to open up a healthy lead in the championship at Barbagallo.

The Prodrive Racing Australia driver proved untouchable with an impressive measured drive on worn tyres at the Perth circuit.

Waters enjoyed a relatively straight forward run as he took the win by 3.3s over Matt White Motorsport’s Chris Pither with team-mate Jack Le Brocq in third.

There was plenty of action right through the field with the podium places only decided in the final laps.

Le Brocq and Pither fought over second for the entire race, but a mistake from the former at Turn 6 with just two laps remaining gifted Pither the position.

Waters’ victory could emerge to be a pivotal point in the championship with series co-leader heading into this weekend, Paul Dumbrell, forced to nurse his Eggleston Motorsport Commodore home in 10th position.

Dumbrell appeared to be battling with an engine issue having dropped down the order in the early stages.

There was plenty of action throughout the race for the minor positions as Todd Hazelwood fought his way through the field to finish fourth.

Experienced V8 Supercar driver Paul Morris was in the thick of the battles at the start which resulted in a fifth place at the flag. Garry Rogers Motorsport driver James Golding was sixth.

It was a difficult race for star of race 1 Arren Russell, who ran as high as third in the opening laps.

He soon dropped down the order before contact with Shae Davies saw him suffer damage and finish in 23rd spot.

Rookies Renee Gracie and Bryce Fullwood produced impressive runs to finish 13th and 14th respectively.

Andrew Jones retired after just two laps with a reoccurrence of an oil pressure issue.

Result: Dunlop Series Race 2, Barbagallo

1 TEAM ENZED PRA Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 28 27:51.5414
2 Ice Break Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG 28 27:54.9381
3 MW Motorsport Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 28 27:57.3413
4 iseek Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 28 27:57.6993
5 United Racing Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 28 28:11.5841
6 Gippsland Body Building GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VE2 28 28:13.2932
7 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 28 28:14.4676
8 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 28 28:14.7477
9 Hayman Reese Racing Jesse Dixon Ford Falcon FG 28 28:23.4044
10 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 28 28:27.7292
11 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2 28 28:28.1574
12 Super Black Racing Simon Evans Ford Falcon FG 28 28:31.3794
13 Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 28 28:33.6106
14 Middys Electrical Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VE 28 28:35.2379
15 Alphabet / Bursons Auto Parts Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 28 28:39.9384
16 Street Fighter Performance Upg Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 28 28:47.0746
17 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 28 28:49.6468
18 Matt Hansen Racing Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE2 27 28:01.7036
19 THR Developments/SA Racing Jason Leoncini Holden Commodore VE2 27 28:07.5407
20 Arcoplate / Penrite Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VE2 27 28:12.3243
21 Battery World Racing Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 27 28:14.1541
22 Challenger / Simplex Brett Hobson Holden Commodore VE2 27 28:24.1260
23 Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 26 28:09.8819
DNF THR Developments/SA Racing Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 18 18:37.4049
DNF Wilson Medic One / NBS Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 1  1:08.6849

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]