Davison denies Lowndes in Barbagallo finale

Will Davison celebrates victory

Will Davison celebrates victory

Will Davison mounted a late charge to score a surprise win for Erebus Motorsport in a Barbagallo finale dominated by tyre strategy.

Craig Lowndes led for much of the final stint and appeared in the box seat for his 100th victory before being chased down by Davison in the closing laps.

“I don’t know what to say, a podium would have been incredible,” said Davison.

“It has been a dry spell and we have had a good car and after the disappointment of Tassie I would have been thrilled with a top 5, I just wanted a clean weekend.”


“I knew CL was on number 99 and I knew how much he would have wanted it. But I was thinking about it being a long while for me.”

Fabian Coulthard made the most of his tyres to carve his way through from the back of the grid to score third.

Prodrive duo Chaz Mostert and Mark Winterbottom dominated for much of the day before a Safety Car with just over 30 of the 83 laps remaining ruined their strategy.

All four Prodrive Fords had been among a small group that executed a soft-hard-soft tyre strategy.

The timing of the Safety Car, which was ironically triggered by a spin for the second Erebus entry of Ash Walsh, triggered the final stops to take place earlier than planned.

While the likes of Davison, Lowndes and Coulthard charged through on new softs, the two Fords eventually struggled home fourth and 15th respectively on their worn out rubber.

James Courtney took fifth after also saving his softs until the end, while team-mate Garth Tander’s sixth place came after running hard-soft-hard.

Shane van Gisbergen ran near the front early but elected for three stops and eventually finished 14th.

Andre Heimgartner and Scott Pye both failed to see the chequered flag after clashing at Turn 1 in the closing stages.

Race control left the two cars under local yellows, avoiding a Safety Car finish.

It was also a rough afternoon for Jamie Whincup, who spent the race at the back of the field after an early mistake saw him skip through the sand trap at Turn 6.

The six-time champion has now fallen back to fifth in the standings behind Lowndes, Courtney, Winterbottom and Coulthard.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 9, Barbagallo 

1 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 83 01:25:26.7265
2 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 83 01:25:32.3340
3 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 83 01:25:34.1004
4 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 83 01:25:38.8487
5 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 83 01:25:41.5978
6 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 83 01:25:43.4909
7 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 83 01:25:46.9039
8 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 83 01:25:51.2885
9 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 83 01:25:51.5624
10 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 83 01:25:51.8276
11 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 83 01:25:55.3320
12 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 83 01:25:57.0039
13 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 83 01:25:57.8053
14 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 83 01:26:01.6450
15 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 83 01:26:02.2944
16 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 83 01:26:02.6148
17 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 83 01:26:03.0823
18 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 83 01:26:07.6341
19 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 82 01:25:32.5140
20 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 82 01:25:32.6822
21 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 82 01:26:04.7346
22 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 77 01:25:44.5818
23 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 69 01:26:23.2185
DNF Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X 78 01:21:12.3104
DNF DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X 78 01:21:12.6623

Championship Standings

1 Craig Lowndes 717
2 James Courtney 665
3 Mark Winterbottom 643
4 Fabian Coulthard 641
5 Jamie Whincup 630
6 Shane Van Gisbergen 595
7 Garth Tander 595
8 Chaz Mostert 545
9 David Reynolds 486
10 Rick Kelly 431
11 Jason Bright 429
12 Will Davison 399
13 Todd Kelly 394
14 Nick Percat 349
15 James Moffat 332
16 Dale Wood 331
17 Scott McLaughlin 318
18 Tim Slade 311
19 Lee Holdsworth 309
20 Tim Blanchard 298
21 Michael Caruso 288
22 Andre Heimgartner 272
23 David Wall 237
24 Ashley Walsh 194
25 Scott Pye 143
26 Marcos Ambrose 125

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]