Winterbottom holds off Mostert for Race 7 win

Mark Winterbottom celebrates victory

Mark Winterbottom celebrates victory

Mark Winterbottom secured Prodrive’s first V8 Supercars Championship race win of the season by holding off team-mate Chaz Mostert in the opening heat at Barbagallo.

Winterbottom beat his pole-sitting team-mate to the first corner and was not headed for the remainder of the 25 laps.

Mostert appeared the quicker of the two for much of the run but never made a serious passing attempt, eventually taking the flag 0.6s adrift in second.

“My car was actually struggling a bit,” admitted Winterbottom afterward.


“Chaz had the quicker car but I managed to get him off the line.

“We will need to tune it up now but to get a one-two is just awesome.”

Craig Lowndes completed the podium from Shane van Gisbergen, Jason Bright and David Reynolds in a largely uneventful race among the front-runners.

It was a tough afternoon for the Holden Racing Team, with Garth Tander retiring from fourth in the early stages due to a problem with his Commodore’s left-rear suspension.

Team-mate James Courtney held sixth for much of the race before falling back to 10th by the flag as his tyres faded.

Courtney’s race had also included early contact with Reynolds on the back straight as the Ford driver attempted to follow Bright through on the HRT entry.

Reynolds momentarily took to the inside grass during the battle, but managed to escape without damage.

Walkinshaw stable-mate Tim Slade dropped from eighth to 16th with a late off at Turn 1, compounding the factory team’s struggles.

Jamie Whincup found it tough going from 21st on the grid, rising to just 15th by the flag.

The Red Bull Holden driver will join pole-sitter Winterbottom on the front-row for the afternoon’s second 25 lap heat.

Winterbottom beat Mostert to the first corner

Winterbottom beat Mostert to the first corner

V8 Supercars Championship Race 7, Barbagallo

1 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X  25 24:36.1409
2 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X  25 24:36.7337
3 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF  25 24:39.0974
4 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF  25 24:44.9374
5 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF  25 24:45.3156
6 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X  25 24:46.2600
7 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG  25 24:49.1140
8 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF  25 24:52.4445
9 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima  25 24:54.1019
10 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF  25 24:54.6180
11 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60  25 24:56.0444
12 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima  25 25:00.4572
13 Nissan Motorsport James Moffat Nissan Altima  25 25:01.1844
14 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF  25 25:01.3847
15 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF  25 25:01.7223
16 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF  25 25:02.7632
17 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG  25 25:03.6751
18 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima  25 25:04.0231
19 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF  25 25:04.3282
20 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF  25 25:05.2681
21 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG/X  25 25:05.7559
22 DJR Team Penske Scott Pye Ford Falcon FG/X  25 25:06.6613
23 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60  25 25:07.3781
24 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF  25 25:07.7948
DNF Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF   7  6:52.7184

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]