Pither powers to Dunlop Series pole

Chris Pither

Chris Pither

Chris Pither claimed pole position for the first of two Dunlop Series races as the series celebrates its 100th round at Barbagallo Raceway this weekend.

The Ice Break Ford Falcon driver surged to the top of the time sheets in the dying minutes of the session with an impressive 57.2102s effort.

Reigning champion Paul Dumbrell topped the majority of the second part of qualifying before Jack Le Brocq and then Pither usurped the Red Bull Racing V8 Supercars co-driver.

Pither set the pace in practice on Friday despite being forced to sit out the opening session due to an electrical fault on his car.

“I’m over the moon we had a tough start to weekend so hopefully this is the start of a good season,” said Pither.

Prodrive Racing Australia’s Cameron Waters will start on the front row having trailed Pither by just 0.0542s.

Erebus Motorsport co-driver Le Brocq will head row two in third spot with Dumbrell fourth in the Eggleston Motorsport Holden Commodore, just three tenths adrift of the pace.

Andrew Jones was fifth fastest ahead of Super Black Racing’s Simon Evans and Aaren Russell, who topped the first part of qualifying.

Rising star Todd Hazelwood, veteran Paul Morris and former V8 Utes racer Jesse Dixon completed the top 10.

Result: Dunlop Series Qualifying 

Position Team Driver Car Time Gap
1 Ice Break Racing Chris Pither Ford Falcon FG 0:57.2102
2 TEAM ENZED PRA Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG 0:57.2644 00.0542
3 MW Motorsport Jack Le Brocq Ford Falcon FG 0:57.3835 00.1733
4 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VE2 0:57.6045 00.3943
5 Wilson Medic One / NBS Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VE2 0:57.6429 00.4327
6 Super Black Racing Simon Evans Ford Falcon FG 0:57.6432 00.4330
7 Plus Fitness / Go Karts Go Aaren Russell Ford Falcon FG 0:57.6668 00.4566
8 iseek Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG 0:57.7334 00.5232
9 United Racing Paul Morris Ford Falcon FG 0:57.7679 00.5577
10 Hayman Reese Racing Jesse Dixon Ford Falcon FG 0:57.9745 00.7643
11 THR Developments/SA Racing Taz Douglas Holden Commodore VE2 0:58.0102 00.8000
12 Alphabet / Bursons Auto Parts Josh Kean Holden Commodore VE2 0:58.1265 00.9163
13 Eggleston Motorsport Garry Jacobson Holden Commodore VE2 0:58.2715 01.0613
14 Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG 0:58.3018 01.0916
15 Gippsland Body Building GRM James Golding Holden Commodore VE2 0:58.3286 01.1184
16 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VE2 0:58.4193 01.2091
17 Eggleston Motorsport Ant Pedersen Holden Commodore VE2 0:58.8918 01.6816
18 Arcoplate / Penrite Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VE2 0:58.8953 01.6851
19 Street Fighter Performance Upg Dan Day Ford Falcon FG 0:58.9321 01.7219
20 Matt Hansen Racing Matt Hansen Holden Commodore VE2 0:59.0050 01.7948
21 Middys Electrical Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VE 0:59.1261 01.9159
22 Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie Ford Falcon FG 0:59.1645 01.9543
23 Challenger / Simplex Brett Hobson Holden Commodore VE2 0:59.3075 02.0973
24 THR Developments/SA Racing Jason Leoncini Holden Commodore VE2 0:59.3439 02.1337
25 Battery World Racing Aaron McGill Holden Commodore VE2 0:59.4678 02.2576

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]