Lorenzo sets record pace to secure Jerez pole

Jorge Lorenzo on his way to  Jerez pole

Jorge Lorenzo on his way to Jerez pole

Jorge Lorenzo blitzed the Jerez motorcycle lap record to secure pole position for the MotoGP Spanish Grand Prix.

The Yamaha rider proved to be in a class of his own as he posted a 1:37.910s effort to break Marc Marquez’s lap record to claim his first pole position since Misano in September last year.

Lorenzo set the pace from the outset before going on to improve upon his time twice with his final effort eclipsing the lap record.

Despite riding in pain with a broken finger, Honda’s Marquez managed to haul himself onto the front row just 0.333s adrift of Lorenzo in second.

Ducati’s Andrea Iannone showed strong pace at the Spanish circuit to grab the final place on the front row in third.

Tech 3 Yamaha’s Pol Espargaro was fourth fastest ahead of championship leader Valentino Rossi, who was unable to match the pace of his factory Yamaha team-mate.

The works Suzuki of Aleix Espargaro completed the second row in sixth spot just ahead of LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow.

The sister Ducati of Andrea Dovizioso, Pramac Racing’s Yonny Hernandez and Britain’s Bradley Smith rounded out the top 10.

Dani Pedrosa’s replacement Hiroshi Ayoama continued to struggle on the Honda in 16th position, while Australia’s Jack Miller will start Sunday’s race from 22nd on the grid.

“We’ve been struggling all weekend with the bike, trying to get rear grip and we’ve not quite managed it yet, but we’re working hard,”said Miller.

“It’s not going to be an easy race, but we’ve shown that we’ve been strong in the latter half of races so we’ll try to make sure we can do that again tomorrow. But it’s a hard track on a MotoGP bike, we’re trying to adapt and we’re not too far away, just over two seconds.

“The race is going to be hot and long so we’ve got to prepare ourselves for that and hopefully we’ll still have some tyre at the end of it.”

Result: MotoGP Spanish Grand Prix Qualifying

Position Rider Bike Time Gap
1 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1:37.910
2 Marc Márquez Honda 1:38.300s +0.390s
3 Andrea Iannone Ducati 1:38.468s +0.558s
4 Pol Espargaró Yamaha 1:38.539s +0.629s
5 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1:38.632s +0.722s
6 Aleix Espargaró Suzuki 1:38.638s +0.728s
7 Cal Crutchlow Honda 1:38.714s +0.804s
8 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1:38.823s +0.913s
9 Yonny Hernández Ducati 1:39.464s +1.554s
10 Bradley Smith Yamaha 1:39.491s +1.581s
11 Danilo Petrucci Ducati 1:39.789s +1.879s
12 Scott Redding Honda 1:39.825s +1.915s
13 Héctor Barberá Ducati 1:39.569s +1.659s
14 Maverick Viñales Suzuki 1:39.603s +1.693s
15 Álvaro Bautista Aprilia 1:39.612s +1.702s
16 Hiroshi Aoyama Honda 1:39.866s +1.956s
17 Eugene Laverty Honda 1:39.974s +2.064s
18 Nicky Hayden Honda 1:40.025s +2.115s
19 Stefan Bradl Yamaha Forward 1:40.166s +2.256s
20 Karel Abraham Honda 1:40.177s +2.267s
21 Loris Baz Yamaha Forward 1:40.280s +2.370s
22 Jack Miller Honda 1:40.365s +2.455s
23 Mike Di Meglio Ducati 1:40.817s +2.907s
24 Alex de Angelis ART/Aprilia 1:41.108a +3.198s
25 Marco Melandri Aprilia 1:41.273s +3.363s

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]