Jane secures Utes pole amid penalty drama

Kim Jane celebrates securing pole position at Barbagallo Raceway

Kim Jane celebrates securing pole position at Barbagallo Raceway

Erebus Motorsport’s Kim Jane has claimed pole position for the V8 Utes Barbagallo Raceway opener despite receiving a reprimand for a pitlane infringement.

Jane topped Friday’s Top 10 Shootout at the Perth circuit with an impressive 1:06.65s effort, but his pole position was put in doubt for a breach of the pitlane regulations.

The Holden driver returned to his pit bay instead of going directly to Parc Ferme following the completion of qualifying.

A stewards inquiry was launched resulting in Jane retaining his pole position despite being issued with a reprimand for his actions.

“It’s great to get pole, it’s our first one in 75 races and we all know how competitive this series is,” said Jane.

“I’m not getting any younger so to get one is great, I was driving down pit lane yelling and celebrating and I was getting ready to get out of the car and give everyone a big hug.

“I pulled into pit lane and it was a breach, we went to the stewards and pleaded our case, and we got let off so we’ve still got pole.”

New South Wales driver David Sieders will start alongside Jane having trailed the Erebus Ute by just 0.2516s.

Ryan Hansford emerged as the best of the Fords in third with Grant Johnson, who topped the first part of qualifying, in fourth just 0.4s adrift of the poleman.

However, it proved to be a difficult session for the championship pacesetters Ryal Harris and Kris Walton as the pair both failed to secure a place in the Top 10 Shootout.

Harris will start Saturday’s Round 2 opener from 11th with Walton a lowly 17th on the grid.

Race 1 set is due to begin at 10:05am (local time).

Result: V8 Utes Racing Series Top 10 Shootout

Position Team Driver Ute Time Gap
1 Bob Jane T-Marts / Altenzo Kim Jane (VIC) Holden Commodore VE 1:06.6557*
2 Mango Credit David Sieders (NSW) Holden Commodore VE 1:06.9073 00.2516
3 Multispares Racing Ryan Hansford (QLD) Ford Falcon FG 1:06.9805 00.3248
4 All Purpose Pest Control Grant Johnson (WA) Ford Falcon FG 1:07.1307 00.4750
5 Stratco Racing Rhys McNally (WA) Holden Commodore VE 1:07.1557 00.5000
6 Auto One / Erebus Motorsport Adam Marjoram (WA) Holden Commodore VE 1:07.2001 00.5444
7 Peters Motorsport Mason Barbera (QLD) Ford Falcon FG 1:07.2244 00.5687
8 McLeod Racing / RYCO 24-7 Gerard McLeod (VIC) Holden Commodore VE 1:07.3025 00.6468
9 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher (NSW) Ford Falcon FG 1:07.4035 00.7478
10 Just Car Insurance / Kitten Craig Dontas (SA) Holden Commodore VE 1:07.5491 00.8934



Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]