Chassis switch for David Wall at Barbagallo

David Wall

David Wall

David Wall will switch cars for the UBET Perth Super Sprint, inheriting the chassis previously campaigned by Scott McLaughlin.

McLaughlin has moved into a new car (GRM 18) for the Barbagallo event; the third ever Volvo S60 built by the team.

The move has seen Wall inherit GRM 17 from McLaughlin, which won four races and scored 10 pole positions last year.

The 32-year-old is hoping for an improved run in Western Australia after his first two events with the team were hampered by a toe injury.

”I am taking over Scott’s car, something that feels good,” he said ahead of the weekend.

“It is a little bit newer which is always a good thing.

“The time off (since Symmons Plains) has been good and my foot injury is mending well.

“I am really excited to get back on track.”

This weekend marks GRM’s 250th V8 Supercars Championship event, having debuted with a single Steven Richards driven Holden at Eastern Creek in 1996.

Running two Holdens from 1998 before moving to Volvo last year, the team has scored 21 race wins – including the 2000 Bathurst 1000 – 18 poles and 53 podium finishes.

Last year’s Barbagallo meeting saw McLaughlin take the squad’s first championship race win in its Volvo guise; surprising with strong tyre life on the abrasive surface.

The 21-year-old this year arrives in Perth aiming to get his season back on track after the team’s push to fix its early season reliability issues.

”It is a completely different ballgame this year, everyone has stepped up from last year,” he said.

“But I am confident that we can have a good showing in Perth to get the championship back on track, scoring some vital points.”

McLaughlin and Wall sit 13th and 22nd in points respectively ahead of this weekend’s three races.

Wall has endured a difficult start to his tenure with Volvo

Wall has endured a difficult start to his tenure with Volvo

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]