White heads Targa Tasmania

Jason White

Jason White – PIC: Angryman Photography

Jason White has moved into the Modern lead after Day 2 of Targa Tasmania as the leading competitors flexed their muscles.

Jason White’s Lamborghini Gallardo moved past rival Eddie Maguire in Modern, while Tony Quinn’s 2014 McLaren 650S made the most of the dry conditions to build a 90 second lead in Showroom, and the Porsche 944 Turbo of Pete Nunn is now over a minute ahead in Classic Outright.

The second day of Targa Tasmania saw crews head west of Launceston for eight stages totalling nearly 90km. After a lunch break in the coastal city of Devenport, competitors returned to Launceston for the overnight halt.

After winning yesterday’s George Town street stage by nine seconds, Tony Quinn showed that his McLaren is clearly the class of the Showroom field. He consistently set the fastest stage times throughout the day, putting a big gap between he and Jim Richards’ Porsche Cayman.

Craig Dean’s Ford Mustang lies third, 10 seconds behind Richards, after TV star Grant Denyer dropped five minutes, putting him out of contention – at least for the time being.

“The event’s just started and it’s a long way to go. I’ve done many of them and won outright twice,” Quinn said.

“We’re surrounded by a good bunch of drivers and there will be a heap of stories at the end of the week. I think if I can do a good job for McLaren, I’ll be happy.”

With his Lamborghini Gallardo get faster with each stage, Eddie Maguire’s Mitsubishi was unable to match the Italian supercar’s speed over the day’s eight stages, and is now 18 seconds in arrears.

Last year’s Targa Tasmania winner, Jamie Vandenberg, has moved into third, 53 seconds off the pace, and is waiting for those in front to hit trouble.

“We changed the gearbox overnight and put the old one back in, but I’m struggling to get it back into second gear today,” White explained.

“Anytime you can be in front Targa is a good thing – no lead is big enough or good enough, but with the issues we’re having, we’re happy to be there.”

Local knowledge was an advantage for Launceston’s Pete Nunn as he extended his Classic Outright lead to over a minute, his Porsche 944 Turbo running perfectly and setting up a strong lead.

Craig Haysman (1981 Triumph TR7 V8), despite never having had great success at Targa Tasmania, is second, well clear of Peter Ullrich’s 1963 Jensen CV8.

“We’ve been happy with our progress today – the car’s been great, the conditions are great and we’re holding our own,” Nunn said.

“We’ve just got to sit back a little because it’s a race of endurance and just ensure we make it. It’s a fragile car, so we have to treat it with a little bit of respect.”

Nunn’s speed also sees him leading the Late Classic Handicap class, while Peter Ullrich is nearly two minutes clear of his nearest rival in Early Classic Handicap. Tim Hendy (Nissan Skyline) has a 21 second lead over Adam Kaplan’s BMW in Early Modern.

Other class leaders after day two are Barrie Smith (Audi TT RS) in 4WD Showroom, Jeff Beable (Nissan Skyling) in Sports Trophy, Bob Fisher (Triumph TR4) in Thoroughbred Trophy, and Wayne Clarke continues to lead the Vintage class in his 1938 Dodge Speedster Special.

Day three of Targa Tasmania heads to the east coast with a lunch stop in St Helens. A further eight stages will be tackled, with the day’s finale around the streets of Longford.

VIDEO: Day 2 Highlights

Results after Day 2 of 6 (Provisional)

RDA Brakes Modern
1. Jason White / John White, 2013 Lamborghini Gallardo Squadra Corse
2. Eddie Maguire / Michael Potter, 2007 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo, +48s
3. Jamie Vandenberg / Dennis Sims, 2013 Nissan GT-R, +53s
4. Ben Searcy / Mitchell Lukasz, 2007 Mitsubishi Evo IX, +1m48s
5. Toby Gill / Matthew Rickards, 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X RS, +2m24s

Wrest Point Showroom
1. Tony Quinn / Naomi Tillett, 2014 McLaren 650S
2. Jim Richards / Barry Oliver, 2014 Porsche Cayman S, +1m30s
3. Craig Dean / Jenny Cole, 2013 Ford Mustang Shelby GT500, +1m40s
4. Neill Ford / Colin Maher, 2010 Chevrolet Corvette ZR1, +3m00s
5. Andrew Robinson / Thomas Browell, 2013 Mini Cooper, +5m05s

Shannon’s Classic Outright
1. Pete Nunn / Keith Johnstone, 1985 Porsche 944 Turbo
2. Craig Haysman / Mary Hughes, 1981 Triumph TR7 V8, +1m04s
3. Peter Ullrich / Sara Ullrich, 1963 Jensen CV8, +1m51s
4. Barry Faux / Therezia Mihajlovic, 1985 Mazda RX7, +2m17s
5. Steve McClintock/Jann Skinner, 1985 Mazda RX-7, +2m51s

Budget Sports Trophy
1. Jeff Beable / Nerida Beable, 2000 Nissan Skyline GT-R N1
2. Allan Hines / Kerry Hines, 2010 Porsche 911 Turbo S, +6m08s
3. Martin Farkas / Dennis Neagle, 2001 BMW M3, +6m25s

Shannon’s Thoroughbred Trophy
1. Bob Fisher / Louse Paul, 1967 Triumph TR4a
2. John Keating / Peter O’Reilly, 1975 Alfa Spider Spider, +4m05s
3. David Currow / Colin Carati, 1961 Steyr Puch TR Europa, +13m04s

Shannons Vintage
1. Wayne Clarke / Trevor Berriman, 1938 Dodge Speedster Special

Country Club 4WD Showroom
1. Barrie Smith / Jan Smith, 2010 Audi TT RS
2. Stewart Liddle / Michael Lloyd, 2009 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X RS, +5s
3. Angus Kennard / Ian Wheeler, 2009 Subaru Impreza STi, +29s

Shannons Early Classic Handicap
1. Peter Ullrich / Sari Ullrich, 1963 Jensen CV8
2. Andrew White / Ashley Yelds, 1961 Volvo 122s, +1m55s
3. Robin Lowe / Peter Lowe, 1971 Datsun 240Z, +4m33s

Shannons Late Classic Handicap
1. Pete Nunn / Keith Johnstone, 1985 Porsche 944 Turbo
2. Leigh Achterberg/ Greg Fitzgerald, 1982 Porsche 944, +48s
3. Barry Faux / Therezia Mihajlovic, 1985 Mazda RX7, +1m01s

Spirit of Tasmania Early Modern
1. Tim Hendy / Julie Winton-Monet, 2003 Nissan Skyline GT-R Z-Tune
2. Adam Kaplan / David Kaplan, 2004 BMW M3 CSL, +21s
3. Liam Howarth / Larry Howarth, 1995 Nissan Skyline GT-R V Spec, +26s

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]