Relentless Marquez surges to Argentina pole

Marc Marquez shot to pole in Argentina

Marc Marquez shot to pole in Argentina

World champion Marc Marquez will start the Grand Prix of Argentina from pole position following a stunning display in qualifying.

The Honda rider once again showed his class at the Termas Rio Hondo circuit by posting a session best time of 1:37.802s, which proved to be more than 0.5s quicker than his nearest rival.

Such was Marquez’s dominance, the 22-year-old had time to switch bikes during the session before going on to increase his pole position margin.

The battle for second proved to be hard fought with Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro emerging on top just three events into the Japanese manufacturer’s return to grand prix motorcycle racing.

Second on the grid confirmed Espargaro and Suzuki’s pace after the Spaniard had topped the times in both practice sessions on Friday.

Ducati’s Andrea Iannone secured the final place on the front row of the grid as he pipped LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow by the slimmest of margins.

It proved to be a difficult session for Yamaha with two-time world champion Jorge Lorenzo fifth, while team-mate Valentino Rossi could only manage eighth, behind the Ducati’s of Andrea Dovizioso and Danilo Petrucci.

Meanwhile, Suzuki’s sister bike of Maverick Vinales and Tech 3 Yamaha rounded out the top 10.

Dani Pedrosa’s replacement Hiroshi Aoyama was a lowly 15th on the factory Honda.

Australia’s Jack Miller will start from 21st on the grid aboard the Open class LCR Honda.

Result: MotoGP Grand Prix of Argentina Qualifying 

Position Rider Team Time Gap
1 Marc Marquez Honda 1:37.802s
2 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki 1:38.316s +0.514s
3 Andrea Iannone Ducati 1:38.467s +0.665s
4 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1:38.485s +0.683s
5 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1:38.485s +0.683s
6 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1:38.520s +0.718s
7 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati 1:38.786s +0.984s
8 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1:38.890s +1.088s
9 Maverick Vinales Suzuki 1:39.187s +1.385s
10 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 1:39.197s +1.395s
11 Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda 1:39.380s +1.578s
12 Hector Barbera Avintia Ducati 1:40.526s +2.724s
13 Yonny Hernandez Pramac Ducati 1:39.405s Q1
14 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda 1:39.434s Q1
15 Hiroshi Aoyama Honda 1:39.715s Q1
16 Stefan Bradl Forward Yamaha 1:39.734s Q1
17 Karel Abraham AB Honda 1:39.758s Q1
18 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha 1:39.808s Q1
19 Alvaro Bautista Gresini Aprilia 1:39.828s Q1
20 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 1:39.876s Q1
21 Jack Miller LCR Honda 1:39.888s Q1
22 Loris Baz Forward Yamaha 1:39.972s Q1
23 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Ducati 1:40.133s Q1
24 Marco Melandri Gresini Aprilia 1:40.403s Q1
25 Alex de Angelis Ioda Aprilia 1:40.485s Q1

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]