Will Davison sets pace in final Symmons practice

Will Davison's Erebus Mercedes

Will Davison’s Erebus Mercedes

Will Davison’s strong run at Symmons Plains has continued with the #9 Erebus Motorsport Mercedes topping the times in final practice ahead of qualifying.

The former Bathurst winner recorded a 51.7s best with three of the session’s 15 minutes remaining while running a brand new set of hard compound tyres.

The time was enough to edge previous fast-man Craig Lowndes, who did not improve on his own final run.

Shane van Gisbergen also failed to improve late following an off at Turn 6 on his way to third fastest.

Nick Percat was fourth after an overnight engine change in his new Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Commodore, while Dale Wood completed the top five.

Van Gisbergen wasn’t the only one to be caught out over the bumps at Turn 6, with Fabian Coulthard flat-spotting a left-front tyre with his own off earlier in the session.

He ended up 10th, one place behind Ashley Walsh, who underlined Erebus’ strong showing ahead of the two back-to-back qualifying sessions this afternoon.

“It’s the first time we put a good quality hard tyre on the car,” said Davison, who had been second in Friday’s dry session.

“We knew we were quite good on the used hard yesterday, but we made a very small change to the car because the conditions have come up.

“I had more understeer in a couple of spots than yesterday so we tuned the rear of the car a little bit.

“Clearly we’ve got a good car so I’ve got to make sure we’re up the front (in qualifying).

“Being P1 has blown me away, but I just want to make sure we’re in with a sniff so we can have some good races.”

The first of two 10 minute qualifying sessions for this afternoon’s 60km races will get underway at 1255 local time.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 3, Symmons Plains

Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap
1 Will Davison Erebus Motorsport V8 Mercedes E63 AMG 0:51.7039*
2 Craig Lowndes Red Bull Racing Australia Holden Commodore VF 0:51.8106 0:00.1067
3 Shane van Gisbergen Team Darrell Lea STIX Holden Commodore VF 0:51.8405 0:00.1366
4 Nick Percat Repair Management Aust Racing Holden Commodore VF 0:51.9413 0:00.2374
5 Dale Wood GB Galvanizing Racing Holden Commodore VF 0:51.9614 0:00.2575
6 Jamie Whincup Red Bull Racing Australia Holden Commodore VF 0:52.1006 0:00.3967
7 David Reynolds The Bottle-O Racing Team Ford Falcon FG/X 0:52.1244 0:00.4205
8 Mark Winterbottom Pepsi Max Crew Ford Falcon FG/X 0:52.1461 0:00.4422
9 Ashley Walsh Erebus Motorsport V8 Mercedes E63 AMG 0:52.1602 0:00.4563
10 Fabian Coulthard Freightliner Racing Holden Commodore VF 0:52.1796 0:00.4757
11 James Courtney Holden Racing Team Holden Commodore VF 0:52.2146 0:00.5107
12 Rick Kelly Nissan Motorsport Nissan Altima 0:52.2879 0:00.5840
13 Todd Kelly Nissan Motorsport Nissan Altima 0:52.2987 0:00.5948
14 Scott McLaughlin Wilson Security Racing GRM Volvo S60 0:52.3054 0:00.6015
15 Andre Heimgartner Super Black Racing Ford Falcon FG/X 0:52.3081 0:00.6042
16 Chaz Mostert Pepsi Max Crew Ford Falcon FG/X 0:52.3182 0:00.6143
17 Garth Tander Holden Racing Team Holden Commodore VF 0:52.3262 0:00.6223
18 Tim Slade Supercheap Auto Racing Holden Commodore VF 0:52.3365 0:00.6326
19 Scott Pye DJR Team Penske Ford Falcon FG/X 0:52.3428 0:00.6389
20 David Wall Wilson Security Racing GRM Volvo S60 0:52.3489 0:00.6450
21 Lee Holdsworth Walkinshaw Racing Holden Commodore VF 0:52.4167 0:00.7128
22 James Moffat Nissan Mororsport Nissan Altima 0:52.4351 0:00.7312
23 Michael Caruso Nissan Motorsport Nissan Altima 0:52.5163 0:00.8124
24 Jason Bright Team BOC Holden Commodore VF 0:52.6809 0:00.9770
25 Tim Blanchard Team Cooldrive Holden Commodore VF 0:52.7359 0:01.0320

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]