Shannons wrap: Perkins wins on Kumho debut

Jack Perkins wins on debut in the Kumho Series

Jack Perkins wins on debut in the Kumho Series

V8 Supercars refugee Jack Perkins has won on debut in the Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Car Series at Sandown.

Driving the series winning car Justin Ruggier used last year, Perkins won comfortably from pole position in the Eggleston Motorsport Commodore.

Perkins beat team-mate Liam McAdam with local Matthew Palmer third while Jim Pollicina finished the 12-lap affair in fourth.

Then came Steve Briffa, Michael Hector and Steve Devjak who had qualified on the front row in an ex-Brad Jones Falcon.

The top 10 was rounded out by rookies Jason Heck, Jason Leoncini and the experienced John Vergotis.

Western Australian teenagers Jake Kostecki, 15, was one lap down in 14th while Alex Rullo, 14, retired after two laps.

Two more races, a 12 and an 18-lap heat, will decide the opening round of the Kumho Series tomorrow.

Ryan Simpson has won on debut in the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge at Sandown

Ryan Simpson has won on debut in the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge at Sandown

Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge presented by Pirelli

Polesitter Ryan Simpson led a trio of debutant class winners by taking overall honours.

“I nailed the start and stayed ahead of the other guys and tried to get a gap on cold tyres,” Simpson said.

Geoff Emery was the first of the elite drivers home in second held ahead of a charging Jon McCorkindale.

John Goodacre was fourth in the 12-lap affair from John Karytinos, Dylan O’Keeffe, Tim Miles with David Ryan eighth.

Jaxon Evans mixed it up with the pro and elite runners before coming home ninth on debut, the first of the Class B competitors.

Ricky Capo unleashed a last lap pass to win

Ricky Capo unleashed a last lap pass to win

Australian Formula 3
Ricky Capo took the lead on the last lap to notch his first Gold Star win.

Gilmour Racing driver Jon Collins led from pole however the race was neutralised by a Safety Car which drew Capo into calculations.

Melbourne teenager Capo has upgraded to a Dallara this year which was once driven by Force India F1 driver Sergio Perez in Europe.

Kerrick Sports Sedans

A Safety Car brought Darren Hossack’s likely march to victory unstuck with his Audi-Chev overheating during the long caution period forcing him to retired two laps from the end.

Thomas Randle took the win in his Kerrick-sponsored Saab-Chev with the experienced and defending champion Tony Ricciardello second while Kerry Baily was third in his Aston Martin DBR9.

Reigning Bathurst 1000 champion Paul Morris finished fifth behind the wheel of a MARC Cars Australia Ford Focus.

Radical Australia Cup

Greg Smith and co-driver Karl Reindler won the opening round in the #78 Radical SR8 V8.

Smith won the first sprint race with Reindler winning the second before the pair then teamed up to comfortably win the 40-minute feature event.

Australian Formula Ford Series

After taking pole, Hamish Hardeman took victory in the opening race for Sonic Motor Racing ahead of team-mate Christian Morina and Jack Spencer, all in Mygale chassis.

Australian Manufacturers Championship

HSV Gen-F GTS drivers Jim Pollincina and Geoff Emery will start from pole in the 3 Hour classic.

The Mitsubishi Lancer EVO driven by Rick Bates, Aaron Seton and Bob Pearson was .3s off in second with the BMW 135i of Iain and Grant Sherrin third fastest and the leaders in Class B.

Super Six Touring Car Series

The opening two race wins were shared by Commodore drivers Travis Lindorff and Gavin Ross.

Polesitter Ben Grice was stymied by gearbox dramas ahead of the final race of the weekend tomorrow.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]