Winterbottom completes Ford practice double

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom

It was Mark Winterbottom’s turn to lead the way for Prodrive in a dry second practice session at Symmons Plains.

The Ford driver recorded a best of 51.40s with two minutes remaining after being one of several to opt for pre-marked soft tyres in his final run.

“The car felt really good,” said Winterbottom

“It’s nice to do laps in the dry because in the wet it’s so sketchy. So to have a trouble free session is clearly good for the team.

“The wet sessions are about chasing traction. In that second session we switched the car back to our base set-up and were really were on the money.

“It’s nice to then adjust on the car and actually have it respond. Even the changes that didn’t work, we simply went the other way and it responded in the right way.”

Will Davison also used soft tyres to draw within 0.05s of Winterbottom with his final lap to end up second.

Craig Lowndes had endured several spins during the 60 minutes before jumping into the top three, ending up as the quickest hard tyre runner in the process.

Garth Tander, Fabian Coulthard, David Reynolds, Shane van Gisbergen, James Courtney, Lee Holdsworth and Andre Heimgartner completed the top 10.

Although the track was dry throughout, oil left at Turn 4 from an earlier support category session made for tricky conditions.

The oil-dry caught out several drivers including Jason Bright, Lee Holdsworth and Lowndes, who spun three times at the same corner.

A mistake from Bright at Turn 6 that saw the Team BOC Holden nudge into the tyre wall was however the only cause of a red flag, coming with a quarter of the session left.

A third and final 15 minute practice session will be run tomorrow morning ahead of qualifying.


Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap
1  Mark Winterbottom  Pepsi Max Crew  Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.3998 0:00.0542
2  Will Davison  Erebus Motorsport V8  Mercedes E63 AMG 0:51.4540 0:00.1428
3  Craig Lowndes  Red Bull Racing Australia  Holden Commodore VF 0:51.5426 0:00.1551
4  Garth Tander  Holden Racing Team  Holden Commodore VF 0:51.5549 0:00.1626
5  F.Coulthard/L.Youlden  Freightliner Racing  Holden Commodore VF 0:51.5624 0:00.1864
6  David Reynolds  The Bottle-O Racing Team  Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.5862 0:00.2245
7  Shane Van Gisbergen  Team Darrell Lea STIX  Holden Commodore VF 0:51.6243 0:00.2982
8  James Courtney  Holden Racing Team  Holden Commodore VF 0:51.6980 0:00.3213
9  Lee Holdsworth  Walkinshaw Racing  Holden Commodore VF 0:51.7211 0:00.3407
10  Andre Heimgartner  Super Black Racing  Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.7405 0:00.3659
11  Chaz Mostert  Pepsi Max Crew  Ford Falcon FG/X 0:51.7657 0:00.3664
12  Scott McLaughlin  Wilson Security Racing GRM  Volvo S60 0:51.7662 0:00.4253
13  Nick Percat  Repair Management Aust Racing  Holden Commodore VF 0:51.8251 0:00.5308
14  D.Wood/M.Jones  GB Galvanizing Racing  Holden Commodore VF 0:51.9306 0:00.5965
15  David Wall  Wilson Security Racing GRM  Volvo S60 0:51.9963 0:00.6802
16  Jamie Whincup  Red Bull Racing Australia  Holden Commodore VF 0:52.0800 0:00.8472
17  Jason Bright  Team BOC  Holden Commodore VF 0:52.2470 0:00.8799
18  James Moffat  Nissan Mororsport  Nissan Altima 0:52.2797 0:00.8838
19  Tim Blanchard  Team Cooldrive  Holden Commodore VF 0:52.2836 0:00.9183
20  Scott Pye  DJR Team Penske  Ford Falcon FG/X 0:52.3181 0:00.9492
21  Rick Kelly  Nissan Motorsport  Nissan Altima 0:52.3490 0:01.0171
22  Todd Kelly  Nissan Motorsport  Nissan Altima 0:52.4169 0:01.0678
23  Tim Slade  Supercheap Auto Racing  Holden Commodore VF 0:52.4676 0:01.0733
24  Ashley Walsh  Erebus Motorsport V8  Mercedes E63 AMG 0:52.4731 0:01.3981
25  Michael Caruso  Nissan Motorsport  Nissan Altima 0:52.7979 0:00.0542


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]