Winterbottom scores second in Brazil

Winterbottom finished second in Brazil

Winterbottom finished second in Brazil

Mark Winterbottom has scored a second place finish in the opening round of the Brazilian Stock Car series alongside regular driver Marcos Gomes.

The Race of the Duos at the Ayrton Senna Circuit in Goiania, featured 14 drivers with Formula One experience and 11 nationalities were represented. The regular drivers started the race, with Átila Abreu leading the pack storming off from pole position. However, he soon reported a vibration and slipped down the order and his car was retired by co-driver Nelson Piquet Jr. with a wheel bearing failure later in the race.

After starting second on the grid, Gomes maintained position despite plenty of action in the opening laps and was out front as the pit stop cycle got underway. Gomes handed over to the Pepsi Max Crew V8 star midway through the 35-lap race and Winterbottom re-joined in second.

Winterbottom started to cut the gap to the leader, Nestor Girolami, who took over from Ricardo Mauricio. However, after just two laps Winterbottom felt the tyres start to drop off and he settled back for a second place finish.

At the chequered flag the Australian was just under seven seconds back, but 11 seconds in front of a pack of drives battling for third which included Antonio Felix da Costa, Pechito Lopez, Lucas Di Grassi, Vitor Meira and Alvaro Parente.

Winterbottom (left) on the podium in Goiania

Winterbottom (left) on the podium in Goiania

After finishing an eventual third place after post-race penalties last year, it was a delighted Winterbottom who got to stand on the podium in Brazil.

“Good to finish on the podium,” said Winterbottom.

“It’s the beginning of the championship, so I wanted to do a good job for Marcos.

“My stint was good for a couple of laps, but my tyres started to wear quite quickly so I had to back off. It was pretty uneventful to be honest, so I just drove around. It was pretty straightforward.

“I’d love to have challenged for the win, but second is excellent. A podium is good in any day.”

Winterbottom will fly out from Brazil later today and head directly to Tasmania for this weekend’s V8 Supercar round at Symmons Plains.

VIDEO: Race highlights



Pos No. Crew Team Laps/Gap
1 #90 Ricardo Maurício/Nestor Girolami Eurofarma RC 35 laps : 52min32s719
2 #80 Marcos Gomes/Mark Winterbottom Voxx Racing Team + 6s892
3 #18 Allam Khodair/Antonio Felix da Costa Full Time Competições + 18s475
4 #0 Cacá Bueno/Pechito Lopes Red Bull Racing + 18s742
5 #21 Thiago Camilo/Lucas Di Grassi Ipiranga-RCM + 19s102
6 #65 Max Wilson/Vitor Meira Eurofarma RC + 19s766
7 #88 Felipe Fraga/Alvaro Parente Voxx Racing – + 19s880
8 #77 Valdeno Brito/Laurens Vanthoor Shell Racing + 25s577
9 #111 Rubens Barrichello/Ingo Hoffman Full time competições + 42s395
10 #14 Luciano Burti/Jaime Alguersuari RZ Motorsport + 45s797
11 #4 Julio Campos/Nicolas Prost Prati-donaduzzi + 46s930
12 #28 Galid Osman/Beto Monteiro Ipiranga-RCM + 50s193
13 #29 Daniel Serra/Chico Serra Red Bull Racing + 52s997
14 #2 Raphael Mattos/David Mufatto Schin Racing Team + 59s049
15 #10 Ricardo Zonta/Jacques Villeneuve Shell Racing + 59s682
16 #12 Lucas Foresti/Luiz Razia AMG Motorsport +1min04s663
17 #46 Vitor Genz/Matheus Stumpf Boettger Competições +1min06s869
18 #110 Felipe Lapenna/Vitantonio Liuzzi Schin Racing Team +1min10s047
19 #6 Alceu Feldmann/Ezequiel Raul Bosio Boettger competições +1min11s382
20 #3 Bia Figueiredo/Matias Milla RC3 Bassani + 1min16s879
21 #83 Gabriel Casagrande/Enrique Bernoldi C2 team + 1min18s789
22 #26 Raphael Abbate/Nicolas Costa Hot Car Competições + 1min19s706
23 #72 Fabio Fogaça/Leandro Totti Hot Car Competições + 1 Lap
24 #1 Antonio Pizzonia/Bruno Senna Prati donaduzzi + 1 Lap
25 #73 Sergio Jimenez/Fabio Carbone C2 Team + 1 Lap
26 #25 Tuka Rocha/Chris van der Drift RC3 Bassani + 2 Laps
27 #8 Rafael Suzuki/Antonio Perez RZ Motorsports + 4 Laps
28 #51 Átila Abreu/Nelson Piquet Jr AMG Motorsport + 8 Laps
29 #74 Popó Bueno/Guilherme Salas Cavaleiro Racing Sports + 11 Laps
30 #70 Diego Nunes/Ricardo Rosset Vogel Motorsport + 27 Laps
31 #11 Cesar Ramos/Frederic Vervish Cavaleiro Racins Sports + 28 Laps
32 #5 Denis Navarro/Felipe Giaffone Vogel Motorsport + 30 Laps
33 #33 Felipe Maluhy/Xandynho Negrão ProGP + 32 Laps



Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]