Winterbottom grabs front row start in Brazil

Winterbottom will start second in Brazil

Winterbottom will start second in Brazil

Mark Winterbottom and Marcos Gomes have set the second fastest time in qualifying ahead of the Race of the Duos, the opening round of Brazilian Stock Car Championship.

After a wet practice session in the morning, which Winterbottom and Gomes were third fastest; crews faced dry conditions at the Goiania circuit in qualifying with the temperature of 27ºC also by far the best of the weekend for fast times.

The regular drivers took to the track first, followed by the invited pilots, including Winterbottom and a range of stars from across the globe including many with Formula One experience. The average between the best lap made by driver and co-driver set the time for qualifying with Átila Abreu and Nelson Piquet Jr scoring the pole.

“It’s been great for the team; front-row start is very positive, said Winterbottom.

“We’ve made some changes to the car this morning and in qualifying I felt pretty uncomfortable, but Marcos did a great job. We can win the race, and I think we are in a good position”.

For Gomes, who is making 100th start in the series, qualifying showed the pace of the combination and his goal of not just winning the race but also fighting for the championship.

“Not bad. It is my 100th start and the first race in the team, and we couldn’t got along in a better way,” said Gomes.

“I got the fastest lap of the group; then the track conditions changed a little bit, but it’s great anyway. Mark did an amazing job and we have a long race tomorrow”.


Pos No. Crew Team Time
1 #51 Átila Abreu/Nelson Piquet Jr AMG Motorsport 1min24s234
2 #80 Marcos Gomes/Mark Winterbottom Voxx Racing Team 1min24s539
3 #77 Valdeno Brito/Laurens Vanthoor Shell Racing 1min24s632
4 #90 Ricardo Maurício/Nestor Girolami Eurofarma RC 1min24s635
5 #21 Thiago Camilo/Lucas Di Grassi Ipiranga-RCM 1min24s636
6 #18 Allam Khodair/Antonio Felix da Costa Full Time Competições 1min24s686
7 #0 Cacá Bueno/Pechito Lopes Red Bull Racing 1min24s732
8 #110 Felipe Lapenna/Vitantonio Liuzzi Schin Racing Team 1min24s807
9 #12 Lucas Foresti/Luiz Razia AMG Motorsport 1min24s841
10 #46 Vitor Genz/Matheus Stumpf Boettger Competições 1min24s851
11 #28 Galid Osman/Beto Monteiro Ipiranga-RCM 1min24s863
124 #4 Julio Campos/Nicolas Prost Prati-donaduzzi 1min24s871
13 #70 Diego Nunes/Ricardo Rosset Vogel Motorsport 1min24s874
14 #88 Felipe Fraga/Alvaro Parente Voxx Racing – 1min24s904
15 #5 Denis Navarro/Felipe Giaffone Vogel Motorsport 1min24s952
16 #11 Cesar Ramos/Frederic Vervish Cavaleiro Racins Sports 1min25s069
17 #73 Sergio Jimenez/Fabio Carbone C2 Team 1min25s044
18 #10 Ricardo Zonta/Jacques Villeneuve Shell Racing 1min25s090
19 #65 Max Wilson/Vitor Meira Eurofarma RC 1min25s199
20 #1 Antonio Pizzonia/Bruno Senna Prati donaduzzi 1min25s225
21 #83 Gabriel Casagrande/Enrique Bernoldi C2 team 1min25s242
22 #3 Bia Figueiredo/Matias Milla RC3 Bassani 1min25s253
23 #72 Fabio Fogaça/Leandro Totti Hot Car Competições 1min25s287
24 #14 Luciano Burti/Jaime Alguersuari RZ Motorsport 1min25s335
25 #25 Tuka Rocha/Chris van der Drift RC3 Bassani 1min25s169*
26 #111 Rubens Barrichello/Ingo Hoffman Full time competições 1min25s469*
27 #29 Daniel Serra/Chico Serra Red Bull Racing 1min25s419
28 #8 Rafael Suzuki/Antonio Perez RZ Motorsports 1min25s578
29 #6 Alceu Feldmann/Ezequiel Raul Bosio Boettger competições 1min25s730
30 #26 Raphael Abbate/Nicolas Costa Hot Car Competições 1min25s944
31 #33 Felipe Maluhy/Xandynho Negrão ProGP 1min26s023
32 #2 Raphael Mattos/David Mufatto Schin Racing Team 1min27s674
33 #74 Popó Bueno/Guilherme Salas Cavaleiro Racing Sports 1min24s546**

*Penalty: ignoring blue flags (best lap cancelled)
**Penalty:under the weight limit (excluded)

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]