Prodrive completes sweep in crash hit finale

Mark Winterbottom proved unstoppable at Albert Park

Mark Winterbottom proved unstoppable at Albert Park

Mark Winterbottom led Prodrive to a fourth consecutive one-two finish in a V8 Supercars finale marred by a multi-car melee.

After three relatively clean races, the double-file rolling start caused chaos in Race 4.

Pole-sitter Winterbottom waited until the last possible moment to accelerate and, with several behind going early, a concertina ensued.

Marcos Ambrose and Nick Percat were taken out on the spot, while James Moffat and Will Davison also took damage.

A second incident occurred at Turn 2, where Fabian Coulthard spun Craig Lowndes into the path of Jason Bright.

After the resulting Safety Car, Winterbottom controlled the following eight laps before time constraints brought an end to proceedings one circuit short of the scheduled distance.

Holden drivers Shane van Gisbergen, James Courtney and Jamie Whincup followed the Fords home to complete the top five.

As in the earlier heats, the racing was largely processional among the top 10 following the Safety Car restart.

Van Gisbergen, who had saved new tyres for the final, threatened Mostert as the race wore on but could not find a way by.

The battles were far more willing further back, with Volvo substitute Chris Pither in the thick of the action.

The Kiwi was eventually punted out of 15th place on the final lap by Dale Wood, who received a post-race penalty for his troubles.

Scott McLaughlin charged from the back of the grid in the other Volvo to salvage a 10th place from an otherwise horrid weekend.

Result: V8 Supercars Race 4, Albert Park

1 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 26:30.2734 1:58.2499*
2 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 26:31.3322 1:58.4699
3 Team Darrell Lea STIX Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 26:32.2564 1:58.2879
4 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 26:32.4510 1:58.3581
5 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 26:32.9694 1:58.6165
6 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 26:35.4320 1:58.5402
7 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 26:36.4630 1:58.7889
8 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 26:38.3865 1:59.2088
9 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG/X 26:42.1448 1:59.2632
10 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 26:42.5746 1:58.9151
11 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 26:50.0906 1:58.4623
12 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 26:52.3090 2:00.0784
13 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 26:53.4653 2:00.4744
14 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 26:54.3089 2:00.0076
15 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 26:58.4967 1:59.6478
16 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 26:59.4246 2:00.3367
17 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 27:00.5417 2:00.8161
18 Nissan Mororsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 27:01.6642 2:00.9652
19 Wilson Security Racing GRM Chris Pither Volvo S60 27:20.1318 2:00.3073
20 GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 27:31.1062 2:01.1642
DNF Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF
DNF Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF
DNF DJR Team Penske Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon FG/X
DNF Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG
DNF Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]