Hamilton cruises to Australian GP victory

Hamilton celebrates ahead of team-mate Rosberg

Hamilton celebrates ahead of team-mate Rosberg

Lewis Hamilton produced a faultless drive to win the season opening Australian Grand Prix which saw only 15 cars make the start.

The Mercedes driver proved untouchable at the front as the reigning world champion cruised to a 34th career victory.

Team-mate Nico Rosberg ensured Hamilton was unable to relax but the German was unable to challenge the Brit as he settled for second spot.

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel managed to jump the Williams of Felipe Massa in the pit stops to claim the final place on the podium.

Massa pushed hard from the start converting his third place grid slot but he couldn’t hold back a charging Vettel in the second half of the race.

Sauber’s Felipe Nasr provided one of the talking points as the Brazilian came home in an impressive fifth on his F1 debut. His team-mate Marcus Ericsson finished in the points in eighth.

The Swiss team went the entire 2014 season without scoring a point with Nasr and Ericsson’s results arriving after the squad was taken to court earlier this week.

Red Bull Racing’s Daniel Ricciardo brought his off the pace RB11 home in sixth for some valuable points.

The Force Indias of Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez finished in seventh and tenth while Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz was ninth on debut.

Despite being forced to run conservative settings on his Honda power unit, Jenson Button nursed his McLaren to 11th position.

Only 11 cars finished the race which had just 15 starters after the Red Bull of Daniil Kvyat and the McLaren of Kevin Magnussen withdrew shortly before the race with mechanical dramas.

The withdrawals came after Williams driver Valtteri Bottas was ruled out of the race by the FIA medical delegate due to a back injury sustained in qualifying.

Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen retired from fifth in the closing stages after a problem with his left rear wheel following his second pit stop.

Both Lotus cars retired in the early laps with Pastor Maldonado fired into the wall by a Sauber at Turn 1, which brought out the Safety Car on the opening lap. Romain Grosjean suffered a suspected power unit failure.

Max Verstappen had been running in the points for the majority of the race before he was forced to stop on track with smoke bellowing from the rear of his Toro Rosso.

Result: F1 Australian Grand Prix

Position Driver Team Time/Gap
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 58 laps
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes -7.640
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 25.523s
4 Felipe Massa Williams Mercedes 29.196s
5 Felipe Nasr Sauber Ferrari 1m26.14
6 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Renault 1 Lap
7 Nico Hulkenberg Force India Mercedes 1 Lap
8 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 1 Lap
9 Carlos Sainz jnr Toro Rosso Renault 1 Lap
10 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 1 Lap
11 Jenson Button McLaren Honda 2 Laps
Ret Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Retirement
Ret Max Verstappen Toro Rosso Renault Mechanical
Ret Romain Grosjean Lotus Mercedes Mechanical
Ret Pastor Maldonado Lotus Renault Crash
DNS Kevin Magnussen McLaren Honda
DNS Daniil Kvyat Red Bull Renault
DNS Valtteri Bottas Williams Mercedes
DNS Will Stevens Manor F1
DNS Roberto Merhi Manor F1

F1 Championship Standings

1 Lewis Hamilton 25
2 Nico Rosberg 18
3 Sebastian Vettel 15
4 Felipe Massa 12
5 Felipe Nasr 10
6 Daniel Ricciardo 8
7 Nico Hulkenberg 6
8 Marcus Ericsson 4
9 Carlos Sainz jnr 2
10 Sergio Perez 1
11 Jenson Button 0

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]