Richards wins Race 2 of Carrera Cup

Richards took his fourth race win of 2015

Richards took his fourth race win of 2015

Defending Series Champion Steven Richards has come through to take victory in the second race of the Carrera Cup at Albert Park.

Richards got a great start from second place while race #1 winner Nick McBride spun his rear tyres from pole.

Cam McConville got into second place as McBride settled back into third in front of Carrera Cup legend Craig Baird.

Simon Hodge was the race’s major casualty when he found the fence after contact with James Bergmuller on lap 6 of 10.

A fine drive from Nick Foster who started from the near the rear of the grid after a radiator issue in the opening race. Foster climbing through the pack to finish 10th.

McConville pressed Richards over the final laps but the series points leader had too much and took the victory in the 250th Carrera Cup race in Australia.

“That was a great win. We had the tyre pressures a little higher than we should. It was a good start and a strong first five laps, which was enough to maintain the balance of the car as the rear tyres faded,” said Richards.

“We’ve got to consolidate these points while the young guys are still trying to get up to speed on a track they probably haven’t driven as much. They will come on pretty strong in the next few rounds.”

Another clean run for Max Twigg who finished first in the Tag Heuer Carrera Challenge for semi-pro racers.

“I’m happy because my pace at the end of the race was pretty similar to the front guys. I just need to work out how I can be a little faster in the first four laps because that’s where I lose some time. I’m rapt; to race at this track and be at the front of the Challenge class again is a real buzz,” said Twigg.

The Carrera Cup has one more race and that will be prior to Sunday’s Australian Formula 1 Grand Prix.

RESULTS: Carrera Cup Race 2 – Albert Park

Pos No. Driver Sponsor
1    1  Steven Richards  Laser Plumbing and Electrical
2   14  Cam McConville  OPS Gateway
3   77  Nick McBride  Bob Jane T-Marts
4    8  Craig Baird  Porsche Centre Melbourne
5   88  Shae Davies  Scott Taylor Motorsport
6   22  Richard Muscat  Wilson Sec/PAYCE/Genis Steel
7    7  Matt Campbell  Phase 8
8   10  David Russell  Finanze EZI
9   26  Michael Almond  Copyworld
10  777  Nick Foster  Bob Jane T-Marts
11   18  Max Twigg
12   65  Fraser Ross  Porsche Centre Brighton
13   45  Duvashen Padayachee  VIP Petfoods
14   24  Tony Bates  AFS/Ned Whiskey & Cola
15   23  Roger Lago  JBS Australia
16    5  Spike Goddard  Spike Racing
17   56  Shane Smollen  McGrath Estate Agents
18    4  Stephen Grove  Grove Group
19    9  Marc Cini  Hallmarc/PIARC
20   39  Adrian Mastronardo  Veritas
21    6  Ash Samadi  Apartment Hotel
22   13  James Bergmuller  Motorone Car Care
23  222  Scott Taylor  Scott Taylor Motorsport
DNF   11  Simon Hodge  Team BRM

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]