McBride scores maiden Carrera Cup pole

Carrera Cup Pole award winner Twigg and McBride

Carrera Cup Pole award winner Twigg and McBride

Nick McBride scored his maiden pole position of his Carrera Cup career with the fastest time in qualifying at Albert Park.

It is the second-straight race that a Sonic Motorsports prepared Porsche has taken pole after team-mate Nick Foster set the pace in qualifying at Clipsal.

McBride set his time with around three minutes to run in the 20-minute session after 19-year-old Matt Campbell sat at the head of the order. Campbell just 0.0028 behind, making it one of the closest Carrera Cup qualifying sessions ever in the series.

“Really happy with that, for me it’s really about showing some pace,” said McBride.

“Last year we got around the third to fifth on the grid and it’s really nice to take the step forward and to do it at the Grand Prix is pretty cool as well.

“Ultimately all the credit has got to go to the Sonic boys because the cars are clearly fast as we showed with Nick (Foster) in Adelaide and now here.”

Carrera Cup legend Craig Baird will start third, while round 1 winner and defending series champion Steven Richards is back in sixth.

In the Tag Heuer Carrera Challenge for semi-pro racers, Max Twigg was fastest, despite sitting the final minutes in the Turn 1 sand trap.

Twigg was quickest ahead of last year’s Albert Park class winner Roger Lago, with Clipsal category winner Tony Bates in third.

“I really didn’t feel like I put a good lap together, so I feel a little lucky,” said Twigg.

“The car was better than it was in practice, but still have a couple of braking issues which caused my off during the session. Fortunately I did that after I set the time!

“To have pole at the Grand Prix event is a highlight and we now need to carry that through the races.”

The Carrera Cup will feature three races this weekend with the first race on Friday at 3.30pm.

 QUALIFYING: Carrera Cup – Albert Park

Pos Car No. Driver Sponsor Time Gap
1 77 Nick McBride Bob Jane T-Marts  1:57.9486R
2 7 Matt Campbell Phase 8  1:57.9514r 0:00.0028
3 8 Craig Baird Porsche Centre Melbourne  1:58.0365r 0:00.0879
4 777 Nick Foster Bob Jane T-Marts  1:58.0508r 0:00.1022
5 14 Cam McConville OPS Gateway  1:58.0816r 0:00.1330
6 1 Steven Richards Laser Plumbing and Electrical  1:58.1459r 0:00.1973
7 10 David Russell Finanze EZI  1:58.4433 0:00.4947
8 88 Shae Davies Scott Taylor Motorsport  1:58.6560 0:00.7074
9 22 Richard Muscat Muscrete Constructions/HTP  1:58.6769 0:00.7283
10 45 Duvashen Padayachee VIP Petfoods  1:58.7351 0:00.7865
11 26 Michael Almond Copyworld  1:58.9301 0:00.9815
12 65 Fraser Ross Porsche Centre Brighton  1:58.9830 0:01.0344
13 11 Simon Hodge Team BRM  1:59.0129 0:01.0643
14 18 Max Twigg AVCS  1:59.9946 0:02.0460
15 23 Roger Lago JBS Australia  2:00.0131 0:02.0645
16 24 Tony Bates Alternative Freight Services  2:00.1506 0:02.2020
17 5 Spike Goddard Spike Racing  2:00.2829 0:02.3343
18 13 James Bergmuller Motorone Car Care  2:01.3623 0:03.4137
19 4 Stephen Grove Grove Group  2:01.4772 0:03.5286
20 9 Marc Cini Hallmarc/PIARC  2:01.7231 0:03.7745
21 39 Adrian Mastronardo Veritas  2:02.2385 0:04.2899
22 6 Ash Samadi Apartment Hotel  2:02.8766 0:04.9280
23 222 Scott Taylor  2:03.7573 0:05.8087
24 56 Shane Smollen McGrath Estate Agents  2:07.5983 0:09.6497


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]