Walton denies Harris Utes clean sweep

Kris Walton celebrates V8 Utes Race 3 victory

Kris Walton celebrates V8 Utes Race 3 victory

Kris Walton denied Ryal Harris from taking a Clipsal 500 clean sweep with victory in the shortened final V8 Utes Racing Series race of the weekend.

The race produced another titanic scrap between Walton and Harris with the former claiming the win under the Safety Car following an incident between Bruce Oaklands and Geoff Fane.

Walton grabbed the lead on the run down to Turn 1 with Harris in hot pursuit.

There was plenty of action behind as Craig Dontas dropped down the order after contact with the busy chasing pack.

The South Australian’s race came to an end when he hit the wall at Turn 8.

At the front the top two soon broke away from the pack behind who continued to squabble, resulting in Jordan Skinner being turned around.

Harris managed to find a way through but a mistake from the Gold Coast driver allowed Walton to retake the lead where he stayed until the race came to a close two laps short of the scheduled distance.

The race ended prematurely when Fane appeared to drive Oaklands into the pit wall at high speed.

George Miedecke claimed the final place on the podium in third ahead of Rhys McNally and Nathan Pretty.

Result: V8 Utes Racing Series, Race 3, Clipsal 500

1 Rentco Transport Equipment Kris Walton (QLD) Ford FG  6 11:30.0321
2 All Purpose Pest Racing Ryal Harris (QLD) Ford FG  6 11:30.6132
3 iSeek George Miedecke (NSW) Ford FG  6 11:31.8248
4 West Coast Racing Rhys McNally (WA) Holden VE  6 11:32.7225
5 Burbank Homes Nathan Pretty (VIC) Holden VE  6 11:33.4272
6 Team Kleen Racing / Kleen Group Adam Beechey (TAS) Holden VE  6 11:34.2992
7 Multispares Racing Ryan Hansford (QLD) Ford FG  6 11:35.2187
8 JMG Racing Jeremy Gray (NSW) Ford FG  6 11:36.2915
9 Auto One / Erebus Motorsport Adam Marjoram (WA) Holden VE  6 11:36.9627
10 Jesus Racing Team Andrew Fisher (NSW) Ford FG  6 11:37.9780
11 Skyreach/Shamick Racing Leigh Nicolaou (VIC) Holden VE  6 11:38.9302
12 OPS Gateway/Ryco 24-7 Gerard McLeod (VIC) Holden VE  6 11:40.2392
13 Mango Credit David Sieders (NSW) Holden VE  6 11:41.3743
14 Gulf Western Oil/Aussie Stop Richard Mork Ford FG  6 11:43.1536
15 Marbo Smash Nandi Kiss Holden VE  6 11:44.7368
16 Adelaide Tools Troy Dontas (SA) Holden VE  6 11:45.9342
17 Sieders Racing Jordan Skinner (SA) Ford FG  6 11:48.8809
18 Team Kleen Racing / Kleen Group Andrew Nickolls (NSW) Holden VE  6 11:52.5941
19 Australian Conveyor Racing Noel Edge (SA) Ford FG  6 11:53.9336
20 Peters Motorsport Mason Barbera (QLD) Ford FG  6 11:55.1343
DNF Bob Jane T-Marts / Altenzo Tyres Kim Jane (VIC) Holden VE  4 11:50.8873
DNF Tean Cleen Racing Geoff Fane (NSW) Holden VE  3  5:23.6828
DNF OAKLANDS BUILT Bruce Oaklands (NSW) Ford FG  3  5:25.4503
DNF Just Car Insurance / Kitten Craig Dontas (SA) Holden VE  3  5:59.0910
DNF RED Express/AirRoad Charlie Kovacs (SA) Holden VE  1  2:01.1735
DNF Cetnaj Electrical Supplies Peter Burnitt (QLD) Ford FG  1  4:30.7568
DNF Western General Body Works Danny Buzadzic (VIC) Ford FG

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]