Van Gisbergen quickest in final Adelaide practice

Shane van Gisbergen topped final practice

Shane van Gisbergen topped final practice

Shane van Gisbergen put his Tekno Autosports Holden atop the time sheets in the final V8 Supercars practice session of the weekend at the Clipsal 500.

The Kiwi, who qualified 11th and fifth for the afternoon’s twin 125km races, set a best of 1:21.23s as the 20 minutes wound down.

The time proved 0.1s quicker than that of Chaz Mostert, who had set the pace for the majority of the session.

Fabian Coulthard continued his strong form in third ahead of fellow Holden drivers Craig Lowndes and Lee Holdsworth.

Teams concentrated on their race packages ahead of the afternoon, with even qualifying dominator Jamie Whincup cautious over his prospects.

“We’re not sure what we have yet,” he said after the session.

“The car felt reasonable out there but we’ll have to go through the data to see how we stack up against everyone else.”

Marcos Ambrose continued to struggle in 24th; the same position he’ll start both of today’s races.

The DJR Team Penske Ford split the Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Holdens of Nick Percat and Tim Blanchard.

Percat spent much of the session stranded in pitlane with starter motor problems, emerging for one flying lap in the final minutes.

Practice 4 ran without incident, although several including Garth Tander (Turn 11) and David Reynolds (Turn 14) tasted the grass.

The first of the two 39 lap races will get underway at 1345 local time.

Result: V8 Supercars Practice 4, Clipsal 500

1 Team TEKNO Darrell Lea Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:21.2342
2 Pepsi Max Crew Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:21.3366 0:00.1024
3 Freightliner Racing Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VF 1:21.3427 0:00.1085
4 Red Bull Racing Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:21.4156 0:00.1814
5 Walkinshaw Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:21.6739 0:00.4397
6 Nissan Mororsport James Moffat Nissan Altima 1:21.7178 0:00.4836
7 Red Bull Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:21.7565 0:00.5223
8 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:21.7593 0:00.5251
9 Team BOC Jason Bright Holden Commodore VF 1:21.8390 0:00.6048
10 Pepsi Max Crew Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:21.8813 0:00.6471
11 Nissan Motorsport Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:21.9003 0:00.6661
12 Team GB Galvanizing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:21.9536 0:00.7194
13 Erebus Motorsport V8 Will Davison Mercedes E63 AMG 1:21.9856 0:00.7514
14 Supercheap Auto Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:22.0747 0:00.8405
15 Wilson Security Racing GRM Scott McLaughlin Volvo S60 1:22.0913 0:00.8571
16 Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:22.1057 0:00.8715
17 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:22.1107 0:00.8765
18 Erebus Motorsport V8 Ashley Walsh Mercedes E63 AMG 1:22.1186 0:00.8844
19 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 1:22.2170 0:00.9828
20 Super Black Racing Andre Heimgartner Ford Falcon FG 1:22.5805 0:01.3463
21 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:22.5876 0:01.3534
22 Wilson Security Racing GRM David Wall Volvo S60 1:22.6656 0:01.4314
23 Repair Management Aust Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:22.6731 0:01.4389
24 DJR Team Penske Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon FG/X 1:22.8048 0:01.5706
25 Team Cooldrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:22.8341 0:01.5999

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]