Richards wins wild Carrera Cup opener

Steven Richards out front in the opening Carrera Cup race

Steven Richards out front in the opening Carrera Cup race

Defending Carrera Cup champion Steven Richards has won a chaotic opening race of the season in Adelaide.

Confusion at the race start after firstly pole sitter Nick Foster broke a drive-shaft on the formation lap and pulled to the pit apron. Then as the cars took their spots on the grid, Duvashen Padayachee also had a drive-shaft let go and he pulled to the side of the second row.He crept his car to the pit apron and officials pulled his Porsche back off the racing track.

With a number of drivers under the impression the race start had been delayed, a 5-second board was shown and then the start procedure occurred. At least five cars failed to get away, while a number of drivers thinking they were on the second formation lap.

Starting effectively from pole, Richards got away cleanly and controlled the race throughout. At the finish he led home Dave Russell and Nick McBride.

The Tag Heuer Carrera Challenge appeared to go the way of Roger Lago after Tony Bates was spun by Michael Almond. Then when Bates tried to back his car onto the middle of the track he was tagged by Shane Smollen who spun.

Lago was first across the line, but received a 10-second time penalty after the timing system judged him striking the Turn 1 track limit indicator four times.

This meant the final result for the part-time racers was Bates in first, Stephen Grove second and Lago in third.

The second race of the Carrera Cup will be held Saturday morning at 9.40am local time.

VIDEO: Richards and Lago speak after the opening race

 RESULTS: Carrera Cup – Race 1 : Adelaide 

Pos NO. Driver Sponsor Class
1   1 Steven Richards  Laser Plumbing & Electrical P
2  10 David Russell  Finance EZI P
3  77 Nick McBride  Bob Jane T-Marts P
4   8 Craig Baird  Porsche Centre Melbourne P
5  22 Richard Muscat  Wilson Security / PAYCE / Genis P
6  14 Cam McConville  OPS Gateway P
7  26 Michael Almond  Copyworld P
8  65 Fraser Ross  The Ross Partnership P
9  24 Tony Bates  AFS / Ned Whisky & Cola C
10  11 Simon Hodge  Team BRM P
11   4 Stephen Grove  Grove Hire C
12  23 Roger Lago  JBS Australia C
13   6 Ash Samadi  Apartment Hotel C
14   9 Marc Cini  Hallmarc C
15  56 Shane Smollen  McGrath Estate Agents C
16 222 Scott Taylor  Scott Taylor Motorsport C
DNF   5 Spike Goddard  Spike Racing P
DNF 777 Nick Foster  Bob Jane T-Marts P
DNF  45 Duvashen Padayachee  VIP Petfoods P
DNF   7 Matt Campbell  Phase 8 P
DNF  39 Adrian Mastronardo  Veritas C


Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]