Lester claims maiden Aus GT pole despite crash

Trass Family Motorsport converted practice pace into Australian GT pole

Trass Family Motorsport converted practice pace into Australian GT pole

Trass Family Motorsport claimed the first pole position of the Australian GT Championship season despite a clash with Erebus Motorsport’s Morgan Haber on the Adelaide streets.

The Kiwi team’s Ferrari 458 Italia, driven by Jono Lester, posted a session best 1.21.4865s effort which arrived after a collision with Haber at the Turn 9 hairpin.

The clash ended the session prematurely with Haber sidelined due to steering damage.

Crash aside, it was an impressive performance from Australian GT newcomers Lester and TFM.

Factory Audi driver Christopher Mies will start Saturday’s Australian GT opener on the front row having trailed Lester by 0.0465s in the Jamec Pem Racing Audi R8, he shares with Greg Crick.

The Aston Martin of Dean Canto/Andrew Taplin will head the second row alongside Nathan Antunes in the Skwirk Audi R8, with the #75 Steve McLaughlan/Steven Johnson Jamec Pem Racing R8 in fifth.

Tony Quinn will pair up with son Klark Quinn in the Darrel Lea McLaren MP4-12C GT3, which will start from sixth, after the former’s new McLaren 650s was ruled out following a crash on Thursday.

Former V8 Supercar driver Marcus Marshall was seventh fastest in the James Koundouris Porsche.

Greg Taylor (Audi R8), John Magro (Lamborghini Gallardo) and Andre McPherson (Porsche 997 GT3) completed the top 10.

Matt Kingsley led the Challenge Class and was 19th overall in the Porsche he shares with Brendan Cook.

Michael Hovey brought out the red flags earlier in the session when he lost control of his Ginetta G55.

A 20 lap sprint race will kick off the season at 8:55am on Saturday followed by a 60 lap feature race at 17:40pm.

Result: Australian GT Championship Qualifying: Clipsal 500 Adelaide

Position Team Driver Car Time Gap
1 Trass Family Motorsport Jono Lester (NZ) Ferrari 458 GT3 1:21.4855
2 JAMEC PEM Racing Christopher Mies (GER) Audi R8 Ultra 1:21.5330 0:00.0475
3 Taplin Real Estate/VIP Holding Andrew Taplin (SA) Aston Martin Vantage 1:21.6473 0:00.1618
4 Skwirk / Beechwood Homes Nathan Antunes (NSW) Audi R8 Ultra 1:22.3473 0:00.8618
5 JAMEC PEM Racing Steven McLaughlan (VIC) Audi R8 Ultra 1:23.1414 0:01.6559
6 Darrell Lea Klark Quinn (QLD) McLaren MP412-C 1:23.3630 0:01.8775
7 Supabarn Supermarkets James Koundouris (ACT) Porsche 997 GT3-R 1:23.6398 0:02.1543
8 Adina Apartment Hotels Greg Taylor (NSW) Audi R8 LMS 1:24.3558 0:02.8703
9 johnmagro.com John Magro (QLD) Lamborghini Gallardo 1:24.4795 0:02.9940
10 AMAC Motorsport Andrew Macpherson (NSW) Porsche 997 GT3-R 1:24.5519 0:03.0664
11 EVA Racing / Evolve Technik Peter Fitzgerald (VIC) Audi R8 Ultra 1:25.1426 0:03.6571
12 Erebus Motorsport Pty Ltd Max Twigg Mercedes Benz AMG SL 1:25.7267 0:04.2412
13 Supaloc Racing Kevin Weeks (SA) Ford GT 2011 GT3 1:26.9602 0:05.4747
14 Team FreeM Ross Lilley (VIC) Lamborghini Gallardo 1:27.1233 0:05.6378
15 Objective Racing Tony Walls (QLD) McLaren 650S GT3 1:27.2570 0:05.7715
16 Motorsport Services Tim Macrow (VIC) Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 1:27.5235 0:06.0380
17 Erebus Motorsport Pty Ltd Morgan Haber Mercedes Benz AMG SL 1:27.5735 0:06.0880
18 Hogs Breath Caf ark Griffith (QLD) Audi R8 LMS :28.3127 0:06.8272
19 JJA Consulting Group Jan Jinadasa (VIC) Lamborghini LP560-4 1:28.5332 0:07.0477
20 Fastway Couriers Simon Ellinghham (NZ) Porsche GT3 Cup Car 1:28.8225 0:07.3370
21 DJS Racing Motorsport Services Daniel Stuttered (VIC) Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 1:29.5842 0:08.0987
22 SAFE-T-STOP Richard Gartner (NSW) Porsche GT3 Cup Car 1:30.4609 0:08.9754
23 Supabarn Supermarkets Theo Koundouris (ACT) Porsche 996 GT3-S 1:30.6259 0:09.1404
24 Bank SA Brenton Griguol (SA) Ferrari F430 GT3 1:32.3317 0:10.8462
25 HHH Racing/Triffid/ESP Michael Hovey (QLD) Ginetta G55 GT3 1:33.1389 0:11.6534
26 Maranello Motorsport Adrian Deitz (NSW) Ferrari 458 GT3 1:33.1911 0:11.7056
27 Donut King Tony Alford (QLD) Lotus Exige Cup 7 1:33.2366 0:11.7511
28 DPM Motorsport Dale Paterson (VIC) Reiter Camaro GT3 1:33.4415 0:11.9560
29 Motor School Ben Foessel (QLD) Ginetta G50Z 1:34.2857 0:12.8002
30 Gap Solutions John Goodacre (SA) Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 1:34.3065 0:12.8210
31 Walz Group Brendan Cook (QLD) Porsche GT3 Cup Car 1:34.3242 0:12.8387
32 Keith Wong Keith Wong (SA) Porsche 911 GT3 Cup 1:36.0160 0:14.5305
33 Thomson Geer Lawyers Michael O’Donnell (SA) Porsche GT3 Cup Car 1:37.0599 0:15.5744
34 Interlloy M Motorsport Justin McMillan (VIC) Reiter Camaro GT3 1:55.3212 0:33.8357

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]