Harris kicks off V8 Utes season in style

Ryal Harris started the V8 Utes season with victory

Ryal Harris started the V8 Utes season with victory

Ryal Harris kicked off his V8 Ute Racing Series in the best possible way with victory in the Clipsal 500 opener.

The Ford driver wasted little time from his seventh place grid slot as he emerged into the top three in the early stages of the 8 lap contest.

Harris continued his charge by slipping past the lead two of Kris Walton and polesitter Rhys McNally mid-way through the race.

Once in front Harris controlled the race taking the chequered flag from Walton and Erebus Motorsport’s Adam Marjoram.

McNally’s podium hopes were dealt a severe blow when a bent steering arm incurred from contact at Turn 1 saw him drop to 18th position at the finish.

“It was disappointing with the qualifying format but I knew we had the pace to do it I just had to bide my time,” said Harris.

“It’s so hard to pass Kris (Walton) he can be so aggressive and you have to be just as aggressive to pass him so it’s going to be hard keeping the friendship intact this year but I really want that third championship and I’ll do anything to get it.”

Craig Dontas came home in fourth ahead of Queenslander Ryan Hansford and George Miedecke in sixth.

The race will set the grid for Race 2 which will take place at 10:45am on Saturday.

Result: V8 Utes Race 1, Clipsal 500

1 All Purpose Pest Racing        Ryal Harris (QLD)      Ford FG     8 13:00.8535
2 Rentco Transport Equipment Ren Kris Walton (QLD)      Ford FG     8 13:01.5186
3 Auto One / Erebus Motorsport Adam Marjoram (WA)     Holden VE 8 13:05.7048
4 Just Car Insurance / Kitten Ca Craig Dontas (SA)      Holden VE 8 13:06.4187
5 Multispares Racing             Ryan Hansford (QLD)    Ford FG     8 13:06.9025
6 iSeek                          George Miedecke (NSW) Ford FG     8 13:07.3624
7 JMG Racing                     Jeremy Gray (NSW)      Ford FG     8 13:14.1532
8 Mango Credit                   David Sieders (NSW)    Holden VE 8 13:14.8814
9 Burbank Homes                  Nathan Pretty (VIC)    Holden VE 8 13:15.4071
10 OPS Gateway/Ryco 24-7          Gerard McLeod (VIC)    Holden VE 8 13:16.9216
11 Peters Motorsport              Mason Barbera (QLD)    Ford FG     8 13:17.4327
12 Bob Jane T-Marts / Altenzo Tyr Kim Jane (VIC)         Holden VE 8 13:19.5628
13 Slideway / Go Karting Brisbane Cameron Wilson (QLD) Ford FG     8 13:21.8148
14 Team Kleen Racing / Kleen Grou Adam Beechey (TAS)     Holden VE 8 13:22.4276
15 RED Express/AirRoad            Charlie Kovacs (SA)    Holden VE 8 13:25.1852
16 Sieders Racing                 Jordan Skinner (SA)    Ford FG     8 13:25.7058
17 Jesus Racing Team              Andrew Fisher (NSW)    Ford FG     8 13:29.6618
18 Cetnaj Electrical Supplies     Peter Burnitt (QLD)    Ford FG     8 13:35.0806
19 West Coast Racing              Rhys McNally (WA)      Holden VE 8 13:41.5213
20 Marbo Smash                    Nandi Kiss             Holden VE 8 13:42.1173
21 Adelaide Tools                 Troy Dontas (SA)       Holden VE 8 13:45.0484
22 Skyreach/Shamick Racing        Leigh Nicolaou (VIC) Holden VE 8 13:47.2415
23 Gulf Western Oil/Aussie Stop L Richard Mork           Ford FG     8 13:50.5859
24 OAKLANDS BUILT                 Bruce Oaklands (NSW) Ford FG     8 13:56.9113
25 Australian Conveyor Racing     Noel Edge (SA)         Ford FG     8 13:57.5246
26 Tean Cleen Racing              Geoff Fane (NSW)       Holden VE 8 13:59.3116
27 Western General Body Works     Danny Buzadzic (VIC) Ford FG     7 13:03.1443
DNF Team Kleen Racing / Kleen Grou Andrew Nickolls (NSW) Holden VE 5 8:52.8114

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]