Faultless Miedecke opens TCM account

Andrew Miedecke completed a lights-to-flag victory

Andrew Miedecke completed a lights-to-flag victory

Andrew Miedecke opened the Touring Car Masters season with a comfortable victory in the opening race at the Clipsal 500 Adelaide.

The New South Welshman completed a lights-to-flag win after taking advantage of problems for polesitter and pacesetter John Bowe.

Bowe’s Ford Mustang lost power with a suspected plug lead on the opening lap, which dropped the reigning Pro Master class champion to fourth.

Two-time TCM champion Gavin Bullas applied pressure to Miedecke throughout but had to settle for second ahead of a fast-finishing Jim Richards in his similarly-new AMC Javelin.

Although hampered by a power issue, Bowe managed to nurse his Mustang home in fourth ahead of Glenn Seton in his Mustang Coupe.

Meanwhile, Greg Crick recovered to finish seventh having spun out of third spot on lap seven, while battling for second with Bullas.

Miedecke will start Race 2 from pole position with Crick completing the front row ahead of Bullas and Richards.

The second Touring Car Masters race of the weekend will begin at 12:50pm local time.

Result: Touring Car Masters Race 1 Clipsal 500 

1 Whiteline Transport Racing Andrew Miedecke (NSW) Chevrolet Camaro SS  10 15:21.3990
2 Rain City Racing Gavin Bullas (VIC) Ford Boss Mustang  10 15:22.8073
3 Shannons Insurance Jim Richards (VIC) AMC Javelin  10 15:27.4095
4 Dunlop Super Dealers/Wilson Security John Bowe (VIC) Ford Mustang Trans A  10 15:28.1325
5 Thunder Road Racing Australia Glenn Seton (QLD) Ford Mustang Coupe  10 15:32.9574
6 Autolite Spark Plugs Brett Youlden (VIC) Holden  HQ Monaro Co  10 15:35.3722
7 Mopar Performance Greg Crick (TAS) Chrysler Charger E55  10 15:38.1555
8 Outbound Racing / wheels.com. Keith Kassulke (QLD) Ford Falcon XB Coupe  10 15:40.1435
9 Adelaides Cheapest Cars Eddie Abelnica (VIC) Ford Falcon XB Coupe  10 15:40.6336
10 Tilleys Racing Equipment Cameron Tilley (NSW) Valiant Pacer  10 15:41.1632
11 Whiteline Transport Racing Mark King (QLD) Chevrolet Camaro RS  10 15:42.7159
12 iseek Racing Jason Gomersall (QLD) Holden  Torana SL/R  10 15:42.7164
13 Freestones Transport/Freestone Paul Freestone (VIC) Chevrolet Camaro SS  10 16:01.4054
14 Hercules Engines Cameron Mason (NSW) Ford Mustang Fastbac  10 16:04.4216
15 Sunliner RV Tony Hunter (VIC) Chevrolet Monza 2+2  10 16:13.8995
16 Tilley Automotive Brad Tilley (NSW) Ford Mustang Coupe  10 16:16.1964
17 THD Motorsport Leo Tobin (VIC) Holden  HQ Monaro Co  10 16:18.2251
18 Flo.gineering Carey McMahon (NSW) Holden  Torana SL/R  10 16:19.4254
19 SportsMed Greg Keene (SA) Porsche 911 RS  10 16:20.7768
20 SportsMed Amanda Sparks (SA) Porsche 911 RS  10 16:21.4448
21 Lyndways Builders Wayne Mercer (VIC) Ford Falcon XY GTHO  10 16:22.1552
22 Red Rock Winery Rohan Little (VIC) Porsche 911 IROC  10 16:36.0753
23 Lion Mill Solutions Tony Edwards (VIC) Ford Falcon XA GT  10 16:36.1038
24 Palmer Promotions Ian Palmer (QLD) Pontiac Trans-Am  10 16:36.5631
25 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher (NSW) Ford Falcon XY GTHO  10 16:56.3204
26 Hercules Engines/Bridgestone Graham Stewart (SA) Chevrolet Camaro SS  10 17:01.7137
27 On Demand Electrical Graeme Cook (SA) Porsche 911 IROC   9 15:27.4535
DNF Black Cat Racing Rory O’Neill (SA) Porsche 911 IROC   9 15:17.6464
DNF BMR Industries Bruce McLeod (NT) Ford Falcon XA Super   4  7:32.4797
DNF PRT Race Fabrication Nigel Benson (SA) Holden  HQ Monaro Co   3  4:52.6585

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]