Haslam denies Rea Phillip Island double

Leon Haslam secured his first World Superbike victory since 2010

Leon Haslam secured his first World Superbike victory since 2010

Leon Haslam emerged victorious in the second World Superbike Championship race at Phillip Island after edging Jonathan Rea in a thrilling finish.

The Aprilia rider pipped the race one winner by the finest of margins at the chequered flag as the pair resumed their battle from the earlier contest.

Haslam spent the first half of the race as a watching brief until the Englishman sprung into the lead on lap 12.

However, the advantage was short-lived as early race leader Rea and Aruba.it Racing Ducati’s Chaz Davies both enjoyed spells at the front as the race ticked towards the final laps.

The climax proved to be a repeat of Race 1 with Rea and Haslam going head-to-head on the final lap, but this time the Aprilia outdragged the Northern Irishman to take the win by just 0.010s.

The victory ended a drought stretching back to Kyalami in 2010.

“What a fantastic day,” said Haslam.

“All the hard work, all the broken bones, all the operations  over the past few years – it makes it all up for it just this one victory.”

Davies was forced to settle for third once again ahead of 2013 world champion Tom Sykes on the factory Kawasaki, while reigning champion Sylvain Guintoli was fifth for Pata Honda.

The race was not without incident as Pata Honda’s Michael van der Mark crashed out of fourth place just minutes after taking the lead of the race with an audacious move on lap seven.

Crescent Suzuki’s Alex Lowes suffered an early retirement before Red Devils Aprilia rider Jordi Torres crashed in the closing stages.

Australia’s Troy Bayliss finished outside of the points in 16th position having made a pit stop for a new front tyre in the second half of the encounter.

The former three-time world champion impressed in the early stages with the Ducati man challenging Sykes for a place in the top six.

It’s been a strange one to come back after so many years,” said Bayliss.

“I did this comeback for a lot of reasons, and in the end I made some really good progress — but still I am actually a little bit pissed off, which proves that I am still a racer.”

Fellow Aussie Jed Metcher retired after two laps.

Meanwhile, David Salom is expected to return to action at the next round of the world championship held at Thailand on March 22 following his high speed accident during qualifying.

The Spanish rider sustained concussion and a broken finger in the crash.

“The crash was really a big one,” said Salom.

“I thought my conditions were OK to try and get on track for the Warm Up, but the doctors’ opinion was not the same.

“Surely my safety and my health are more important, I think I’ll be good to go for Thailand. I have a broken bone in my hand and once I’ll be back.”

Jules Cluzel has become the third rider to win back-to-back world supersport races at Phillip Island.

The Frenchman completed a comfortable win over Lorenzo Zanetti and Gino Rea to join Sebastien Charpentier and Kenan Sofuoglu in the record books.

Aussie wildcards Aiden Wagner (Yamaha) and Glenn Scott (Honda) scored world championship points in 13th and 14th, with Alex Phillis (Honda) coming home in 17th. 

In the Australian Supersport category, Michael Blair took the honours while South Australia’s Olly Simpson picked up his third victory of the weekend in the 125cc/Moto3 class.

Troy Herfoss claimed a double victory in the Australian Superbike Championship races.

Result: World Superbike Championship Race 2

Position Rider Team/Bike Time/Gap
1 Leon Haslam Red Devils Roma Aprilia RSV4 22 Laps
2 Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R +0.010s
3 Chaz Davies Aruba.it Racing Ducati 1199R +0.298s
4 Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R +5.242s
5 Sylvain Guintoli PATA Honda CBR1000RR +14.649s
6 Nicolas Terol Althea Ducati 1199R +16.025s
7 Randy De Puniet Voltcom Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000 +22.300s
8 Leon Camier MV Agusta F4 RR +23.606s
9 Matteo Baiocco Althea Ducati 1199R +23.818s
10 Roman Ramos GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R +35.775s
11 Tati Mercado Barni Ducati 1199R +39.929s
12 Sylvain Barrier BMW Italia S1000RR +46.267s
13 Santiago Barragan Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R +57.893s
14 Larry Pegram Team Hero EBR 1190RX +1:02.676s
15 Christophe Ponsson Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R +1:05.262s
16 Troy Bayliss Aruba.it Racing Ducati 1199R +1 Lap
17 Imre Toth Team Toth BMW S1000RR +1 Lap
DNF Jordi Torres Red Devils Roma Aprilia RSV4
DNF Michael van der Mark PATA Honda CBR1000RR
DNF Jed Metcher Race Center Kawasaki ZX-10R
DNF Alex Lowes Voltcom Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000

World Superbike Championship Standings

Position Rider Points
1 Leon Haslam 45
2 Jonathan Rea 45
3 Chaz Davies 32
4 Tom Sykes 23
5 Sylvain Guintoli 20
6 Nicolas Terol 18
7 Leon Camier 14
8 Jordi Torres 13
9 Matteo Baiocco 12
10 Michael van der Mark 11
11 Randy De Puniet 9
12 Leandro Mercado 9
13 Alex Lowes 7
14 Roman Ramos 6
15 Sylvain Barrier 5
16 Santiago Barragan 3
17 Troy Bayliss 3
18 Larry Pegram 2
19 Jed Metcher 2
20 Christophe Ponsson 1

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]