Ricciardo and Speedcafe.com claim CAMS gongs

Daniel Ricciardo

Daniel Ricciardo

Daniel Ricciardo has secured the Jack Brabham Award for the most outstanding achievements by an Australian overseas at the 2014 CAMS Motor Sport Awards in Sydney.

Ricciardo’s efforts to overshadow his highly decorated team-mate Sebastian Vettel in his first year at the Red Bull squad, which featured wins in the Canadian, Hungarian and Belgian F1 races, saw him take the coveted prize.

Among the media winners was Speedcafe.com editor-in-chief Gordon Lomas, who landed the Motor Sport Story Of The Year for a special series of video and

Speedcafe.com's editor-in-chief Gordon Lomas

Speedcafe.com’s editor-in-chief Gordon Lomas

written tributes to Sir Jack Brabham.

The three-time world champion died peacefully at his Gold Coast home aged 88 last year.

It was the fifth award for Speedcafe.com’s work over the course of 2014.

CLICK HERE for more on Speedcafe.com’s previous V8 Media Association honours

CLICK HERE for more on Speedcafe.com’s Gold Coast Media Award win

Jim Richards scored the Peter Brock Medal, for participants who have reflected similar characteristics to the late champion, with the enduring competitor joining previous winners, including Craig Lowndes, Neal Bates and Jason Richards.

Ivan Tighe was awarded the Phil Irving Award

Ivan Tighe was awarded the Phil Irving Award

The successful racer and celebrated engine builder Ivan Tighe was awarded the Phil Irving Award posthumously while Volvo V8 Supercars star Scott McLaughlin claimed the Motor Sport Personality Of The Year.

CAMS also announced the establishment of a Motor Sport Hall of Fame dedicated to honouring those who have contributed the most to motor sport as an administrator, driver, owner, developer or engineer.

CAMS President Andrew Papadopoulos said: “CAMS has long held the view that there should be a Hall of Fame to recognise those who have achieved greatness in motor sport through its many disciplines, over the entire history of the sport in Australia.”

Anton De Pasquale claimed the CAMS Young Driver of the Year Award

Anton De Pasquale claimed the CAMS Young Driver of the Year Award

Belinda Taylor was recognised for her work at numerous CAMS events by winning the Motor Sport Official Of The Year, while CAMS Young Driver of the Year Award went to Anton De Pasquale who captured the Formula Renault 1.6 NEC title.

Among other media winners, which were incorporated into the CAMS awards for the first time, was Mark Fogarty, who was named Motor Sport Journalist Of The Year.

CAMS 2014 list of award winners

Phil Irving Award – The Late Ivan Tighe

Australian Motor Sport Official of the Year – Belinda Taylor

Motor Sport Personality of the Year Award – Scott McLaughlin

Donald Thomson Award – Ryan McLeod

Member of Honour – Ron Tauranac

Life Membership

Bob Watson

Fred Gibson

John Paterson

Peter Brock Medallist – Jim Richards

CAMS Young Driver of the Year Award – Anton De Pasquale

Jack Brabham Award – Daniel Ricciardo

2014 FIA Official of the Year – Adrian Stafford

CAMS Media Awards

Motor Sport Story of the Year – Gordon Lomas – Speedcafe (Tribute stories – Sir Jack Brabham)

Motor Sport Journalist of the Year – Mark Fogarty

Motor Sport Photograph of the Year – Robert Cianflone

Motor Sport Photographer of the Year – John Morris

Motor Sport Story of the Year (Radio/Television) – AirTime Media (Shannon’s Legends Series)

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]