Marquez on top as MotoGP testing begins

Marc Marquez topped the times in pre-season testing

Marc Marquez topped the times in pre-season testing

Double world champion Marc Marquez topped the times in the opening day of MotoGP pre-season testing at Malaysia’s Sepang Circuit.

The factory Honda rider logged 63 laps during a productive day at the test with his fastest lap arriving on in the closing stages of his hit-out.

Marquez’s session best 2:02.262s just edged Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi by 0.118s with his team-mate Jorge Lorenzo in third a further tenth and half adrift.

The Yamaha squad brought similar prototype YZR-M1 bikes used at the test in Valencia last year which carried a shorter exhaust.

Australia’s Jack Miller continued his transition from Moto3 machinery to his new LCR Honda premier class bike.

The Queenslander worked on adapting to the electronics systems on the machine having previously tested the bike at the circuit late last year without the use of the package.

Miller ended the day 19th quickest just 2.8s away from the outright pace set by Marquez.

Elsewhere, Ducati enjoyed a strong day with its interim GP14.3 machine featuring an array of upgrades.

Andrea Dovizioso posted the fourth quickest time for the Italian squad while the sister entry of Andrea Iannone was seventh.

The Ducati’s sandwiched the Monster Yamaha of Pol Espargaro.

Forward Racing’s Stefan Bradl, Bradley Smith and Cal Crutchlow rounded out the top 10.

The MotoGP pre-season continues later today.

Result: MotoGP Pre-seaosn test Day 1 

Position Rider Bike Time Gap
1 Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team 2:00.262s
2 Valentino Rossi Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 2:00.380s +0.118s
3 Jorge Lorenzo Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 2:00.521s +0.259s
4 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Team 2:00.617s +0.355s
5 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 2:00.745s +0.483s
6 Pol Espargaro Monster Yamaha Tech 3 2:00.930s +0.668s
7 Andrea Iannone Ducati Team 2:01.424s +1.162s
8 Stefan Bradl Forward Racing Team 2:01.556s +1.294s
9 Bradley Smith Monster Yamaha Tech 3 2:01.707s +1.445s
10 Cal Crutchlow CWM LCR Honda 2:01.713s +1.451s
11 Scott Redding Estrella Galicia 0.0 Marc V 2:01.917s +1.655s
12 Michele Pirro Pramac Racing 2:01.951s +1.689s
13 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Racing 2:02.136s +1.874s
14 Aleix Espargaro Team Suzuki MotoGP 2:02.225s +1.963s
15 Alvaro Bautista Factory Aprilia Gresini 2:02.285s +2.023s
16 Hiroshi Aoyama HRC 2:02.560s +2.298s
17 Nicky Hayden Drive M7 Aspar 2:02.699s +2.437s
18 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing 2:02.700s +2.438s
19 Jack Miller CWM LCR Honda 2:02.807s +2.545s
20 Katsuyuki Nakasuga Yamaha Factory Test Tea 2:03.092s +2.830s
21 Maverick Vinales Team Suzuki MotoGP 2:03.164s +2.902s
22 Eugene Laverty Drive M7 Aspar 2:03.295s +3.033s
23 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Racing 2:03.878s +3.616s
24 Karel Abraham AB Motoracing 2:03.879s +3.617s
25 Loris Baz Forward Racing Team 2:04.163s +3.901s
26 Marco Melandri Factory Aprilia Gresini 2:04.502s +4.240s
27 Alex De Angelis Octo Ioda Racing Team 2:04.673s +4.411s
28 Takumi Takahashi HRC 2:04.719s +4.457s
29 Takuya Tsuda Team Suzuki MotoGP 2:05.478s +5.216s
30 Michael Laverty Aprilia Test Team 2:06.190s +5.928s

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]