Benny Simonsen aboard Ferrari for Bathurst

Benny Simonsen will make his Bathurst 12 Hour debut with Vicious Rumour

Benny Simonsen will make his Bathurst 12 Hour debut with Vicious Rumour

The late Allan Simonsen’s younger brother, Benny, is a last minute addition to this year’s Bathurst 12 Hour grid.

The 31-year-old Dane will drive for Melbourne-based Ferrari squad Vicious Rumour Racing, replacing team owner Tony DeFelice.

Benny Simonsen has continued efforts to forge his own career in GT racing following Allan’s death behind the wheel of an Aston Martin at Le Mans in 2013.

The younger Simonsen’s GT experience includes competing alongside Allan’s former team-mate Hector Lester in last year’s British championship, racing a 458 similar to the one he’ll pilot at Bathurst.

Allan had been one of the stars of the Bathurst classic following the race’s move to a GT format in 2011.

Benny Simonsen

Benny Simonsen

The 12 Hour’s pole award was subsequently named the Allan Simonsen Trophy.

Benny Simonsen’s place alongside Andrea Montermini and Renato Loberto has been confirmed by the release of a full entry list for the race.

The latest 54 car list reveals the full roster of seeded and unseeded drivers, which split the GT3 entries into Outright (one unseeded driver) and Gentleman’s Trophy (minimum of two unseeded drivers) classes.

Eighteen of the 29 GT3 entries have qualified for Gentleman’s Trophy, including the Vicious Rumour Ferrari, the factory Nissan and the lead Jamec Pem Audi.

The third driver in the second AF Corse Ferrari remains the only unknown among the field, which will hit the track one week from today.

Changes in the class line-ups include young British GT racer Devon Modell replacing team owner Rob Holland in the #64 Rotek Racing Porsche.

MARC Cars Australia has also tweaked its entries, with former Formula 3 front-runner Ben Gersekowski joining the squad in place of Andrew Miedecke and Tim Miles in the seat previously earmarked for team owner Ryan McLeod.

Bathurst 12 Hour entry list

Note: Orange text denotes seeded driver

Class A – GT 3 Pro-AM
No Sponsor Driver 1 Driver 2 Driver 3 N/A Manufacturer Model
10 Bentley Team M-Sport Guy Smith Steven Kane Matt Bell   Bentley Continental GT3 2014
11 Bentley Team M-Sport Andy Soucek Maximillian Buhk Harold Primat   Bentley Continental GT3 2014
12 ICE Break David Calvert-Jones Patrick Long Chris Pither   Porsche GT3R 2013
15 Phoenix Racing Marco Mapelli Laurens Vanthoor Markus Winkelhock   Audi R8-LMS Ultra 2014
16 Phoenix Racing Felix Baumgartner Christopher Haase Stephane Ortelli   Audi R8-LMS Ultra 2014
32 JBS Australia Roger Lago David Russell Steve Owen   Lamborghini LP 600
33 Clearwater Racing Mok Weng Sun Toni Villander Matt Griffin   Ferrari 458 GT3 2013
36 Erebus Motorsport Jack LeBrocq Richard Muscat Dean Canto   Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 2013
48 Interlloy / M Motorsport Steve Richards Craig Baird Justin McMillan   Lamborghini Gallardo LP560-4 2012
88 Maranello Motorsport Mika Salo Ben Collins Tony D’Alberto   Ferrari F458 Italia GT3 2013
97 Craft Bamboo Racing Darryl O’Young Alex MacDowall Stefan Mucke   Aston Martin Vantage GT3
Class A – GT 3 AM / Gentleman’s Trophy
No Sponsor Driver 1 Driver 2 Driver 3 N/A Manufacturer Model
2 Fitzgerald Racing / Evolve Technik Peter Fitzgerald Michael Almond Matt Halliday   Audi R8-LMS Ultra 2014
3 AF Corse SRL Peirguiseppe Perazzini Aaron Scott Marco Cioci   Ferrari F458 Italia GT3 2013
5 Skwirk Rod Salmon Nathan Antunes Oliver Gavin   Audi Ultra MPC
7 VodkaO Dean Grant Ash Samadi Max Twigg   Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 2013
8 Flying B Motorsport Peter Edwards John Bowe David Brabham   Bentley Continental GT3 2014
9 Hallmarc / Network Clothing Marc Cini Mark Eddy Christopher Mies   Audi R8-LMS Ultra 2014
27 T F M – Ferrari Motorsport NZ Jono Lester John McIntyre Graeme Smyth   Ferrari F458 Italia GT3 2013
29 PIRELLI Jim Manolios Ryan Miller Ivan capelli   Ferrari 458 GT3
35 NISMO Athlete Global Team Alex Buncombe Katsumasa Chiyo Wolfgang Reip   Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 2014
49 Vicious Rumour Racing Benny Simonsen Andrea Montermini Renato Loberto   Ferrari 458 GT3 2013
51 IMAK – KWIKMIT Andrew Macpherson Brad Shiels Matthew Campbell   Porsche GT3R 2013
52 Pete Storey Ben Gower Gordon Shedden   Aston Martin Vantage GT3
59 VIP Petfoods Tony Quinn Klark Quinn Kevin Estre   McLaren MP4-12C
63 Erebus Motorsport Nathan Morcom Austin Cindric Simon Hodge   Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 2013
74 Jamec Pem Allesandro Latif Warren Luff Greg Crick   Audi R8 Ultra
75 Jamec Pem Steve McLaughlin James Winslow Dean Koutsoumidis   Audi R8 Ultra
77 AF Corse SRL Steve Wyatt Michele Rugolo TBA   Ferrari F458 Italia GT3 2013
99 Craft Bamboo Racing Frank Yu Jonathan Venter Jean-Marc Merlin   Aston Martin Vantage GT3
Class B – GT 3 (Cup Cars)
No Sponsor Driver 1 Driver 2 Driver 3 Driver 4 Manufacturer Model
4 Grove Group – TBA Stephen Grove Ben Barker Luke Youlden   Porsche 997 GT3 Cup (MY 11)
6 SAFE-T-STOP Richard Gartner Michael Hector Garth Duffy Aaron Zerefos Porsche 997 GT3 Cup (MY 07)
14 Peter Conroy Motorsport Peter Conroy Tony Bates Grant Denyer   Porsche 997 GT3 Cup (MY 11)
21 Motorsport Services / Team Freem Sam Fillmore Danny Stutterd Ross Lilley   Porsche 997 GT3 Cup (MY 12)
38 Pelorus / Wall Racing Paul Tressider Daniel Bilski Matt Kingsley   Porsche Cup S
47 Supabarn Supermarkets James Koundouris Theo Koundouris Marcus Marshal Sam Power Porsche Cup S
50 Team LHI Nick Cresswell Terry Knight John Goodacre Jeff Bobik Porsche 997 GT3 Cup (MY 06)
64 Motorsport Services Tim Macrow Peter Rullo Devon Modell   Porsche 997 GT3 Cup (MY 10)
66 GT3 Endurance / Mobil 1 Scott O’Donnell Hayden Knighton Michael Lyons   Porsche 997 GT3 Cup (MY 10)
68 AC Motorsport Endurance Racing Angus Chapel Mark Whyman Xavier West   Porsche 997 GT3 Cup (MY 10)
69 GT3 Endurance / Mobil 1 Lindsay O’Donnell Phil Mauger Frank Lyons   Porsche 997 GT3 Cup (MY 08)
Class C – GT 4
No Sponsor Driver 1 Driver 2 Driver 3 Driver 4 Manufacturer Model
54 Donut King Tony Alford Mark O’Connor Peter Leemhuis   Lotus Exige V6 Cup R
73 Triffid . Bar . Venue Tony Martin Michael Hovey Grant Bromley Robert Hackwood Ginetta G50 GT4
76 Aston Martin Saint Gallen Andreas Baenziger Florian Kamelger Chris Porritt   Aston Martin Vantage GT4
Class D – Invitational (Production)
No Sponsor Driver 1 Driver 2 Driver 3 Driver 4 Manufacturer Model
18 Sherrin Rentals Michael Sherrin Grant Sherrin Iain Sherrin   BMW 135i
23 Bruce Lynton BMW Beric Lynton John Modystach Robert Thomson   BMW M Coupe (1 Series)
28 GWS Personnel Ric Shaw Jake Williams Matt Chahda Steve Devjak BMW 335i
42 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson Jason Clements Karl Begg   BMW E46 M3 GTR
55 Kintyre Racing Glyn Crimp Stuart Kostera Matthew Cherry   Audi TTRS 2011
65 Daytona Sports Cars Jamie Augustine Ben Schoots Ray Hislop   Daytona Coupe
Class I – Invitational (Non Production)
No Sponsor Driver 1 Driver 2 Driver 3 Driver 4 Manufacturer Model
41 Stawell Cartace Bruce Henley Mark King Jason Walsh Ian Cowley Mazda RX8
43 Stawell Cartace Michael Robinson Phil Crompton Shane Woodman Shane Bradford Mazda RX8
91 MARC Cars Australia Kieth Kassulke Jake Camalleri Ivo Breukers   MARC Focus GTC
92 MARC Cars Australia Michael Benton Hadrian Morrall Tim Miles   MARC Focus GTC
93 MARC Cars Australia Garry Jacobson Ben Gersekowski Adam Gowans   MARC Focus GTC

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]