Murcott takes victory at Warrnambool

Sunday 25th January, 2015 - 3:53am


Murcott takes victory on night two of the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic

David Murcott takes victory on night two of the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic

Australian champion David Murcott sent an ominous warning to the star studded field with a stunning performance to take night two honours at the Lucas Oil Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway.

Murcott led from pole position to win a thrilling feature ahead of World of Outlaws duo Kerry Madsen and Daryn Pittman, in front of a 10,000 strong crowd.

But it was only after a pivotal moment on lap 21 of the 30 lap final, where Murcott was challenged for the lead by Luke Dillon.

As Dillon went for top spot, back marker Ryan Jones crashed heavily in turn 4, leaving the Speedweek champion no where to go.

Dillon made contact with Jones, before both were hit by the third placed runner at the time, American legend Jac Haudenschild.

The impact eliminated all three runners and turned the final on its head.

The feature win has left Murcott on top of the points ladder following the opening two’s qualifying for tonight’s 43rd running of the Classic.

“That’s the coolest thing to happen since the Aussie title,” beamed Murcott after the victory.

“I thought we were a sitting duck there at the end with Kerry behind but we got the job done.”

“We’ve put ourselves in a good position for tomorrow certainly being up the pointy end makes life much easier.”

Fans pack night two of the the Classic at Warrnambool

Fans pack night two of the the Classic at Warrnambool

Madsen was satisfied with second place and in a solid position to win a fourth Classic crown.

“There’s so much pressure, it’s so easy for things to go wrong, and you need so much luck here just to survive the qualifying rounds,” Madsen explained after the feature.

“But that’s what makes the Classic so special to win, and that’s what we all want tomorrow night.”

Murcott, Madsen and Pittman were followed home by Kyle Hirst, Danny Reidy, Max Johnson, Grant Anderson, Jack Lee, Sam Walsh and local legend Max Dumesny rounding out the top ten.

Dumesny was honoured after the race, presented with life membership of the Victorian Sprintcar Association.

The ten heat winners on Saturday were quick time winner Daryn Pittman, David Murcott, Kyle Hirst, Kerry Madsen, Danny Reidy, Jack Lee, Terry Kelly, Brent Aprile, Dennis Jones and Brett Milburn.

Sunday will now see all drivers contest a final heat race before the multiple D, C, and B mains ahead of the 40 lap, $30,000 to win Classic final.

*Speedcafe will have all of the latest from Warrnambool across the long weekend. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!