POLL: Who will be Walkinshaw’s top performer?

Tuesday 20th January, 2015 - 12:21pm


Walkinshaw Racing will again field four cars in 2015

Walkinshaw Racing will again field four cars in 2015

The intra-team battle at Walkinshaw Racing again promises to be just as intense as the squad’s fight to chase down its rivals this season.

Monday’s confirmation of Lee Holdsworth’s addition to the factory Holden squad adds further firepower to an already healthy line-up.

James Courtney led the way for Walkinshaw last season, winning two races en route to sixth in the points standings; his best season finish since joining the Holden Racing Team in 2011.

The improved results corresponded with the arrival at the team of Courtney’s long-time friend Adrian Burgess, reuniting the pair that helped Dick Johnson Racing to the 2010 title.

Fellow former champion Garth Tander had finished ahead of Courtney in each of the pair’s previous three seasons as team-mates, but struggled through the early stages of last year.

A mid-season turnaround included a victory in Townsville, while a fast finish – featuring four top five finishes in the season’s final six races – leaves Tander with plenty of momentum heading into 2015.

New-for-2014 recruit Tim Slade meanwhile endured continued misfortune on his way to a distant 17th in the standings, but also found encouraging form late in the year, climbing the podium on the Gold Coast.

Still looking for his first career win, the 29-year-old Slade is now a seven-year veteran of full-time V8 Supercars competition and as hungry as ever for success.

A former team-mate of Slade at Stone Brothers Racing/Erebus Motorsport in 2012/13 Holdsworth, steps into the Walkinshaw seat previously fielded by stand-out 2014 rookie Nick Percat and says he’s looking forward to the challenge.

“There’s nothing wrong with a bit of competition between team-mates,” Holdsworth told in this week’s Cafe Chat.

“I’m good friends with Tim and I get on with JC and Tander as well, so I think we’re going to have a really good group that’ll push each other to the limits.”

Which of these four proven performers will finish highest in the 2015 V8 Supercars Championship? Cast your vote below on this week’s Pirtek Poll. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!