Mallala removed from 2015 Shannons Nationals

Friday 9th January, 2015 - 4:11pm


Mallala removed from 2015 Shannons Nationals schedule

Mallala removed from 2015 Shannons Nationals schedule

The Shannons Nationals season has been reduced to eight rounds following the removal of Mallala Raceway from its 2015 calendar.

The South Australian circuit was due to host the second round on April 17-19 but a decision by selected categories to alter their calendars has made the meeting no longer viable.

Mallala was originally scheduled to host the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge, Formula 3 Australian Drivers Championship, Kerrick National Sports Sedan Series, Australian Sports Racer Series and the IROC Challenge.

The categories affected will now be accommodated at existing Nationals rounds or at external events.

“The decision to remove Mallala from the 2015 schedule was not taken lightly however ensures there was no risk for long-supporting Nationals categories in absorbing additional costs, should the round have continued with fewer race categories,” said a statement on the series website.

“The changes have been made following consultation with, and with the full support of, Shannons Nationals categories, sponsors and partners.”

Work is already under way for the Nationals to return to South Australia next year.

A fully revised 2015 calendar is due to be released shortly.

Revised Shannons Nationals 2015 Calendar

Round Location Date
1 Sandown Raceway (VIC) March 27-29
2 Phillip Island (VIC) May 22-24
3 Winton Motor Raceway (VIC) June 12-14
4 Sydney Motorsport Park (NSW) July 3-5
5 Queensland Raceway (QLD) August 7-9
6 Phillip Island (VIC) September 18-20
7 Wakefield Park (NSW) October 16-18
8 Sydney Motorsport Park (NSW) November 13-15
 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!