IMSA reveals Roar Before the 24 entry list

The entry for the 2014 Rolex Daytona 24 Hour

The entry for the 2014 Rolex Daytona 24 Hour

IMSA has revealed the entry list for this week’s Roar Before the 24 test ahead of the Rolex Daytona 24 Hour annual sportscar season opener held on January 22-25.

A field of 53 cars are set to take part in the three-day test at the famous American circuit, which begins on Friday.

The Prototype Class will feature 16 runners highlighted by entries from Action Express Racing, Starworks Motorsport, Wayne Taylor Racing, Michael Shank Racing and Chip Ganissi Racing.

Last year’s winners Christian Fittipaldi, Sebastien Bourdais and Joao Barbosa will remain behind the wheel of the lead Action Express Racing #5 entry.

Starworks Motorsport are set to deploy a strong driver line up of Kiwi Brendon Hartley, Former F1 star Rubens Barrichello, Brit Robbie Kerr, Tor Graves and Scott Mayer.

New Zealand’s three-time Indycar champion Scott Dixon heads an all star quartet in the #02 Chip Ganassi Riley Daytona Prototype, alongside Tony Kannan and NASCAR duo of Kyle Larsson and Jamie McMurray.

Meanwhile, former winners Michael Shank Racing will debut a Honda powered Ligier prototype.

The test will also feature eight Prototype Challenge Class entries.

Australia’s Ryan Briscoe, who is yet to confirm his 2015 plans, has retained his seat alongside Jan Magnussen and Antonio Garcia in the #3 GTLM Corvette Racing entry.

The sister car will be piloted by Oliver Gavin, Tommy Milner and Simon Pagenaud.

James Davison will pilot the #007 TRG Aston Martin

James Davison will pilot the #007 TRG Aston Martin

Newly crowned Porsche Supercup champion Earl Bamber will join Jorg Bergmeister and Frederic Makowiecki in one of two factory Porsche 911 RSRs.

The New Zealander is set to contest the entire United SportsCar season for the German manufacturer.

The GTLM class also features entries from Aston Martin Racing, BMW and Ferrari team AF Corse.

In the 19 car GTD class, V8 Supercar star Shane van Gisbergen returns to the Alex Job Racing Porsche alongside Cooper MacNeil and Leh Keen.

Melbourne-born driver James Davison is listed to rejoin the TRG-AMR Aston Martin squad for the Daytona 24 Hour, having recently signed a new deal with the team to compete in the 2015 United SportsCar Championship.

The full entry list for the Roar Before the 24 can be viewed here.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]