Updated entry list reveals Lotus F1 doubt

Lotus yet to confirm 2015 F1 plans

Lotus yet to confirm 2015 F1 plans

Lotus is yet to confirm its participation in the 2015 Formula 1 season according to an updated entry list submitted by the FIA.

The Enstone team has been listed as “subject to confirmation” on the latest edition of the F1 2015 entry list despite having confirmed its driver line up of Romain Grosjean and Pastor Maldonado for the new campaign.

Lotus, who finished a lowly eighth in the constructors’ championship, were one of the key players, along with Force India and Sauber, pushing for a change to the distribution of funds by F1, after Marussia and Caterham were plunged into administration earlier this year.

Following the release of the entry list, British newspaper The Times has reported this week that there are fears among F1 executives that a third team will collapse in the New Year, potentially dropping the field to 16 cars, as the sport continues to face an economic crisis.

Marussia and Caterham are also listed as “subject to confirmation” on the entry list although it is unlikely the former will return to the grid following the sale of the team’s assets earlier this month.

The entry list also revealed that new world champion Lewis Hamilton will not carry the #1 next season opting to remain with #44 instead.

The new Toro Rosso pair of Max Verstappen and Carlos Sainz Jr will display #33 and #55 respectively, while fellow debutant Felipe Nasr will adopt #12 at Sauber.

Updated Formula 1 2015 Entry List 

Number Driver Team Engine
44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Mercedes
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Mercedes
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing Renault
26 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull Racing Renault
19 Felipe Massa Williams Mercedes
77 Valtteri Bottas Williams Mercedes
5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari Ferrari
7 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari Ferrari
14 Fernando Alonso McLaren Honda
22 Jenson Button McLaren Honda
27 Nico Hulkenberg Force India Mercedes
11 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes
33 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso Renault
55 Carlos Sainz Jr Toro Rosso Renault
8 Romain Grosjean Lotus F1 Team* Mercedes
13 Pastor Maldonado Lotus F1 Team* Mercedes
9 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari
12 Felipe Nasr Sauber Ferrari
TBA Manor Grand Prix (Marussia)* Ferrari
TBA Manor Grand Prix (Marussia)* Ferrari
TBA Caterham* Renault
TBA Caterham* Renault

* Subject to confirmation

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]